Triggers

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Triggers

by Robert J Sawyer

Penguin Canada | April 3, 2012 | Hardcover

Triggers is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 2.

On the eve of a secret military operation, an assassin’s bullet strikes U.S. President Seth Jerrison. He is rushed to hospital, where surgeons struggle to save his life. At the same hospital, Canadian researcher Dr. Ranjip Singh is experimenting with a device that can erase traumatic memories. Then a terrorist bomb detonates. In the operating room, the president suffers cardiac arrest. He has a near-death experience—but the memories that flash through Jerrison’s mind are not his memories.                                                                                                                                            

It quickly becomes clear that the electromagnetic pulse generated by the bomb amplified and scrambled Dr. Singh’s equipment, allowing a random group of people to access one another’s minds. And now one of those people has access to the president’s memories—including classified information regarding an upcoming military mission, which, if revealed, could cost countless lives. But the task of determining who has switched memories with whom is a daunting one, particularly when some of the people involved have reasons to lie …

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 352 pages, 9.3 × 6.4 × 1.1 in

Published: April 3, 2012

Publisher: Penguin Canada

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0670065765

ISBN - 13: 9780670065769

Found in: Science Fiction and Fantasy

save 36%

  • In stock online

$20.20  ea

Online Price

$30.00 List Price

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A thought-provoking, compelling read full of suspense and intriguing characters "Triggers" is a thought-provoking, compelling read full of suspense and intriguing characters. Robert J. Sawyer's latest meets and exceeds his standard of excellence in writing and story-telling. In the midst of home-grown terror and a major national defensive initiative, there is an assassination attempt on the American President. At the same time the President is the operating room, Doctor Singh is attempting a new proceedure to treat the Post Traumatic Stress Disorder of an Iraq War Vet by altering his memories. The White House is bombed and the electro-magnetic pulse affects Dr. Sighn's treatment process. Minds and memories are linked, including the Iraq War Vet and the President. Set against the backdrop of a political thriller, Sawyer masterfully weaves in discussion of racism, abuse, the affects of war on our soldiers, and political responsibility. And once again, in true Sawyer fashion, he shows us that there is an acceptable, preferred alternative to what we know and the direction society is going. "Triggers" is filled with non-stop action and touching interpersonal moments between characters. I couldn't put it down. If you've read any of Sawyer's previous books, you will love this one. If you've only started reading Sawyer after watching "FlashForward", you will love this book. Whether you love thrillers or Science Fiction, or interpersonal drama, you will love this book.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heart pounding sci-fi thriller Beginning with an attempted assassination and a bomb blast this novel really packs a punch right from the first few pages. There is no lead up, no tension building – you are simply thrown right into the action like everyone else. I've got to say I like a novel that gets right to the point. I loved the drama in this book. It constantly had me on the edge of my seat, wondering how everyone was connected and what they were going to do with those connections. It was definitely an interesting look at how humans can/will relate to one another in moments of crisis. Sometimes I was really impressed with the way a character handled a situation. Sometimes I was really disgusted. Regardless of the extreme improbability of the memory linking everyone's actions/reactions felt very authentic. The drama also led to some unexpected twists and turns – a few of which made me actually gasp out loud. Almost like a soap opera. That may sound like a bad thing but I lapped it right up. I had to know more about these people. No I NEEDED to know more about them. It's the main reason I devoured this book so quickly. It helped that each connection/storyline was given the attention it deserved. My original assumption had been that since the President of the United States was shot at the beginning of this book and then mixed up in this crazy memory linkage that the novel would centre around him, throwing the rest of the cast to the wayside. Not true. Each connection was explored on its own, letting the reader get to know each and every character. This is important as there are a lot of characters and I thinking not fleshing out all the different storylines would have led to readers (or at least myself) getting frequently confused. Finally, I loved the way he slipped in little tidbits about Canada. I was worried it would be pretty America heavy, what with it taking place in Washington and having the president and the Secret Service running about but he threw in things like those Heritage Minute commericals, someone reading on a Kobo, mentions of William Shatner and Trudeau as a nice reminder that he IS a Canadian author. I think that made the story a lot more enjoyable for me personal because whenever I read American heavy thrillers/sci-fi I feel so disconnected from it. Final recommendation: An enjoyable and fast paced novel that I would recommend to science fiction fans as well as those who enjoy mysteries and thrillers. Perfect for fans of Philip K Dick and similar authors. This and other reviews at Hooked on Books (http://christashookedonbooks.blogspot.com)
Date published: 2012-04-28

– More About This Product –

Triggers

Triggers

by Robert J Sawyer

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 352 pages, 9.3 × 6.4 × 1.1 in

Published: April 3, 2012

Publisher: Penguin Canada

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0670065765

ISBN - 13: 9780670065769

From the Publisher

On the eve of a secret military operation, an assassin’s bullet strikes U.S. President Seth Jerrison. He is rushed to hospital, where surgeons struggle to save his life. At the same hospital, Canadian researcher Dr. Ranjip Singh is experimenting with a device that can erase traumatic memories. Then a terrorist bomb detonates. In the operating room, the president suffers cardiac arrest. He has a near-death experience—but the memories that flash through Jerrison’s mind are not his memories.                                                                                                                                            

It quickly becomes clear that the electromagnetic pulse generated by the bomb amplified and scrambled Dr. Singh’s equipment, allowing a random group of people to access one another’s minds. And now one of those people has access to the president’s memories—including classified information regarding an upcoming military mission, which, if revealed, could cost countless lives. But the task of determining who has switched memories with whom is a daunting one, particularly when some of the people involved have reasons to lie …

About the Author

Robert J. Sawyer was born in Ottawa and lives in  Mississauga with his wife, poet Carolyn Clink. He has won  both the Hugo and Nebula Awards for best novel. The ABC TV  series FlashForward was based on his novel of the same name.

Editorial Reviews

“A turbo-charged techno-thriller…. Sawyer offers an escape from the recent run of near-future dystopias in a combination of classic and contemporary science fiction.” - Publishers Weekly

“One surprise after another…. Triggers is constantly gripping on the surface and seriously provocative deep down.” - The Wall Street Journal

“The Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of Calculating God and the WWW Trilogy delivers a tense, race-against-the-clock adventure with a surprise ending. It should appeal to mainstream thriller readers as well as its target market.” - Library Journal

“Triggers has the hard-core military/political insights of Robert A. Heinlein, and the compassion of Theodore Sturgeon.” - Jonathan Vos Post