Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth SummerTrust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Trust Me, I'm Lying

byMary Elizabeth Summer

Paperback | October 13, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.99

Earn 55 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Fans of Ally Carter's Heist Society novels will love this teen mystery/thriller with sarcastic wit, a hint of romance, and Ocean’s Eleven–inspired action.
 
Julep Dupree tells lies. A lot of them. She’s a con artist, a master of disguise, and a sophomore at Chicago’s swanky St. Agatha High, where her father, an old-school grifter with a weakness for the ponies, sends her to so she can learn to mingle with the upper crust. For extra spending money Julep doesn’t rely on her dad—she runs petty scams for her classmates while dodging the dean of students and maintaining an A+ (okay, A-) average.

But when she comes home one day to a ransacked apartment and her father gone, Julep’s carefully laid plans for an expenses-paid golden ticket to Yale start to unravel. Even with help from St. Agatha’s resident Prince Charming, Tyler Richland, and her loyal hacker sidekick, Sam, Julep struggles to trace her dad’s trail of clues through a maze of creepy stalkers, hit attempts, family secrets, and worse, the threat of foster care. With everything she has at stake, Julep’s in way over her head . . . but that’s not going to stop her from using every trick in the book to find her dad before his mark finds her. Because that would be criminal.
 

“A sexy love triangle and madcap mystery . . . I loved this book.” —Jennifer Echols, author of Dirty Little Secret

One of TeenVogue's 15 Most Exciting YA Books of 2014

One of PopCrush's 10 Most Anticipated YA Books

"Julep isn't just another high schooler beset by the usual drama of boys and academia. Nope—she also happens to be a con artist and master of disguise, which comes in mighty handy when her father mysteriously disappears. Determined, she delves into the underbelly of Chicago to find him (bringing a bunch of fresh plot lines and unexpected twists along the way)."--teenVogue.com

"Summer creates a standout character in Julep. She lies and cheats with so much confidence and skill that readers will cheer her on, but she also adheres to her own strict moral code. . . . A memorable debut; here's hoping for a lot more from Summer."—Kirkus Reviews

 “Entertaining.”—Publishers Weekly

 “Well-paced, well-plotted.”—The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“This book has it all: homework and hit men, prom drama and silencers.” —APRIL HENRY, New York Times bestselling author of The Body in the Woods
 
MARY ELIZABETH SUMMER is the author of Trust Me, I’m Lying and its sequel, Trust Me, I’m Trouble. She contributes to the delinquency of minors by writing books about unruly teenagers with criminal leanings, and has a BA in creative writing from Wells College. Her philosophy on life is “You can never go wrong with sriracha sauce.” She l...
Loading
Title:Trust Me, I'm LyingFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8.25 × 5.56 × 0.76 inPublished:October 13, 2015Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0385744137

ISBN - 13:9780385744133

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Sure While this wasn't the best teenage-con-artist book I've ever read, there were some elements that kept me from dismissing it. It lacked some of the gasp-out-loud come-from-behind victories and reveals that I've sort of come to expect from books like these, but it definitely had some twists that kept me flipping pages and, yes, cringing. While the overall tone of this book ends okay, it was also a lot more serious with its consequences and ramifications than other teen con books are. Overall, I'm not entirely sure what I thought, but I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt because the prose was solid, Julep's voice was endearing and strong throughout, and it was dedicated to gritty realism in a way that made me take it seriously, even if I didn't want to
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, Suspenseful & Unpredictable! As soon as I learned Trust Me, I'm Lying was about a teenage con artist, I instantly added the book to my must-read list. Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars and Ally Carter's Heist Society series, Mary Elizabeth Summer's debut novel is fun, fresh, and completely unpredictable. Julep Dupree is a confident and resourceful heroine, but she's going to need the help of all her friends to outwit her father's enemies and stay one step ahead of them. To help pay for her education at her upper crust Chicago high school, Julep runs small scams for her wealthy classmates, well-aware they can easily afford her fees. When Julep returns home one evening to find her apartment ransacked and her father missing, she must find a way to unravel the trail of obscure clues he's left behind. Julep's father—an old-school grifter—was involved in something very dangerous, and she will need to use all the tricks of the trade she's learned from him if she hopes to ever see him again. It's kind of funny that for a girl who's so smart, she can still be pretty oblivious at times. Julep can so easily understand her marks and make predictions about how they'll act, yet she fails to recognize that her best friend Sam has feelings for her that go beyond friendship. Sam has always been her faithful sidekick and hacker extraordinaire, but he wants more, even if he doesn't voice it. What makes it all the more complicated is the interest Tyler Richland, the most popular guy at school, has suddenly taken in Julep. I would've never guessed that Trust Me, I'm Lying would end the way it did. I can't even remember the last time a conclusion took me so much by surprise! Julep always has some kind of plan in motion, even if she doesn't necessarily disclose it to readers, so I just had to trust that everything would fall into place. Trust Me, I'm Lying maintains an air of mystery and suspense from the very first page until the very last one.
Date published: 2015-07-02