Truth, Thought, Reason: Essays on Frege by Tyler BurgeTruth, Thought, Reason: Essays on Frege by Tyler Burge

Truth, Thought, Reason: Essays on Frege

byTyler Burge

Paperback | January 15, 2005

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 323 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Tyler Burge presents a collection of his seminal essays on Gottlob Frege (1848-1925), who has a strong claim to be seen as the founder of modern analytic philosophy, and whose work remains at the centre of philosophical debate today. Truth, Thought, Reason gathers some of Burge's mostinfluential work from the last twenty-five years, and also features important new material, including a substantial introduction and postscripts to four of the ten papers. It will be an essential resource for any historian of modern philosophy, and for anyone working on philosophy of language,epistemology, or philosophical logic.
Tyler Burge is at Department of Philosophy, University of California, Los Angeles.
Title:Truth, Thought, Reason: Essays on FregeFormat:PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 9.21 × 6.14 × 0.97 inPublished:January 15, 2005Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0199278547

ISBN - 13:9780199278541

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Introduction1. Frege (2001)Section I: Truth, Structure, and Method2. The Concept of Truth in Frege's Program (1984)3. Frege on Truth (1986)Postscript to 'Frege on Truth' (2003)4. Frege and the Hierarchy (1979)Postscript to 'Frege and the Hierarchy' (2004)Section II: Sense and Cognitive Value5. Sinning Against Frege (1979)Postscript to 'Sinning Against Frege' (2003)6. Frege on Sense and Linguistic Meaning (1990)Section III: Rationalism7. Frege on Extensions of Concepts: From 1884 to 1903 (1984)8. Frege on Knowing the Third Realm (1992)9. Frege on Knowing the Foundation (1998)10. Frege on Apriority (2000)Postscript to 'Frege on Apriority' (2003)