Twenty Years A-Growing by Maurice O'SullivanTwenty Years A-Growing by Maurice O'Sullivan

Twenty Years A-Growing

byMaurice O'SullivanTranslated byMoya Llewellyn Davies, George Thomson

Paperback | April 1, 2000

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 80 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Maurice O'Sullivan was born on the Great Blasket in 1904, and 'Twenty Years A-Growing' tells the story of his youth and of a way of life which belonged to the Middle Ages. He wrote for his own pleasure and for the entertainment of his friends, without any thought of a wider public; his styleis derived from folk-tales which he heard from his grandfather and sharpened by his own lively imagination. The Blasket Islands are three miles off Irelands Dingle Peninsula. Until their evacuation just after the Second World War, the lives of the 150 or so Blasket Islanders had remained unchanged for centuries. A rich oral tradition of story-telling, poetry, and folktales kept alive the legends andhistory of the islands, and has made their literature famous throughout the world. The 7 Blasket Island books published by OUP contain memoirs and reminiscences from within this literary tradition, evoking a way of life which has now vanished.
Edward Morgan Forster was born on January 1, 1879, in London, England. He never knew his father, who died when Forster was an infant. Forster graduated from King's College, Cambridge, with B.A. degrees in classics (1900) and history (1901), as well as an M.A. (1910). In the mid-1940s he returned to Cambridge as a professor, living quie...
Title:Twenty Years A-GrowingFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 7.72 × 5.08 × 0.91 inPublished:April 1, 2000Publisher:Oxford University Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0192813250

ISBN - 13:9780192813251

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Read to Dream About! Twenty years A-growing is perhaps one of the best books I have ever read. It shows both the complexity of working hard and the simplicity of living with out the hi-tech toys of our modern life. It is well written and adds in some beautiful facts about the past culture and language of a time and place that holds infinitely more wounder than the current. I found it relaxing and delightfull to read and picture in my mined. If I had to say there was any thing wrong with this book it is only that it left off on what I would call a friendly cliff hanger. It was to short though the title lives to the truest. It is a book for those who want to see the real life of Ireland as it was, and in my opinion should be.
Date published: 2011-08-11

Table of Contents

1. In Dingle; 2. My First Journey Home; 3. The Island; 4; A Day's Hunting; 5. Ventry Races; 6. Pierce's Cave; 7. A Shoal Of Mackerel; 8. Hallowe'en; 9. The Whale; 10. The Wake; 11. A Night In The Inish; 12 The War; 13. The Shipwreck; 14. The Wanderer; 15. The Lobster Season; 16; Matchmaking; 17. TheWedding Day; 18. An American Wake; 19. The Stranger; 20 My Last Journey To The Inish; 21; I Leave Home; 22. From Dingle East; 23. The City Of Dublin; 24. The Civic Guard; 25. Connemara; 26. Conclusion

Editorial Reviews

`Part of a unique and remarkable Irish literary archive ... compelling.'Neil Johnston, Belfast Telegraph, 24/6/00