Uncommon Education, An: A Novel

Paperback | October 13, 2015

byElizabeth Percer

not yet rated|write a review
For fans of Prep, Dead Poets Society, and Special Topics in Calamity Physics comes an elegant and remarkably insightful coming-of-age debut, in which a young woman’s serendipitous discovery of her college’s underground Shakespeare Society leads to an unforgettable series of transformations. When Naomi finds herself among “the Shakes” at Wellesley, she finally lets herself embrace the passionate inner self she’s always kept locked away. But when a sudden scandal unfolds, she will be forced to learn the limits of the relationships that have sustained her. An intimate and enthralling narrative, Elizabeth Percer’s debut novel An Uncommon Education marks the emergence of a stunning new literary talent.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$2.00 online
$24.95 list price
Out of stock online
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

For fans of Prep, Dead Poets Society, and Special Topics in Calamity Physics comes an elegant and remarkably insightful coming-of-age debut, in which a young woman’s serendipitous discovery of her college’s underground Shakespeare Society leads to an unforgettable series of transformations. When Naomi finds herself among “the Shakes” a...

From the Jacket

Afraid of losing her parents at a young age, Naomi Feinstein prepares single-mindedly for a prestigious future as a doctor. But when her only friend and confidant abruptly departs from her life, Naomi isn't sure she will ever recover, even after a long-awaited acceptance letter to Wellesley arrives. Yet Naomi soon learns that college i...

Elizabeth Percer is a three-time nominee for the Pushcart Prize and has twice been honored by the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Foundation. She received a BA in English from Wellesley and a PhD in arts education from Stanford University, and completed a postdoctoral fellowship for the National Writing Project at UC Berkeley. She lives in C...

other books by Elizabeth Percer

All Stories Are Love Stories: A Novel
All Stories Are Love Stories: A Novel

Hardcover|Mar 22 2016

$29.11 online$31.99list price(save 9%)
All Stories Are Love Stories: A Novel
All Stories Are Love Stories: A Novel

Audio Book (CD)|Mar 22 2016

$41.99

Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.83 inPublished:October 13, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062110977

ISBN - 13:9780062110978

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Uncommon Education, An: A Novel

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Elizabeth Percer relates the life story of Naomi Feinstein with beautifully scripted, lush prose drawing in the reader and providing an unobstructed view deep into the hearts of her characters. . . . Rich in history, steeped in family tradition, and full of emotion--a lesson in practiced elegance.”