Undaunted: Knights in Black Leather

Paperback | September 15, 2015

byMelissa Marr

not yet rated|write a review

Following in the tradition of Kristen Ashley, Joanna Wilde, and Jay Crownover, this first novel in a sexy, dark New Adult series tells the thrilling story of a young woman who finds herself drawn to a Southern motorcycle club’s inner circle—and a dangerously hot biker.

Aubrey Evans needs to get her life back on track after her father is indicted for embezzlement. She’ll save college tuition money, hightail it out of small-town Tennessee, and steer clear of hard-muscled boys on motorcycles. Yet there’s no ignoring someone like Zion. A knight in black leather, Zion looks like every bad idea she’s been told to avoid, but she can’t resist him. Whenever she’s in trouble, he’s there. Appealing as his rough exterior may be, it’s the protective, principled man beneath that tempts her like crazy.  

Zion knows Aubrey doesn’t intend to stick around. She claims to want only friendship, but he senses there’s a naughty girl hiding on the inside—one whose intense desires match his own. For now, he’ll be patient and play by her rules. Though he knows it’s just a matter of time before he weakens her resolve.

As they join forces to figure out who’s behind a local crime spree, it’s clear that the danger goes deeper than Aubrey guessed. And when she needs someone tall, dark, and undaunted to keep her safe, Zion intends to be there—now and always.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Following in the tradition of Kristen Ashley, Joanna Wilde, and Jay Crownover, this first novel in a sexy, dark New Adult series tells the thrilling story of a young woman who finds herself drawn to a Southern motorcycle club’s inner circle—and a dangerously hot biker.Aubrey Evans needs to get her life back on track after her father is...

From the Jacket

Being fearless has never looked so good . . .Aubrey Evans needs to get her life back on track after her father is indicted for embezzlement. All she has to do to hightail it out of small-town Tennessee is save up money for college tuition and steer clear of hard-muscled boys on motorcycles. Yet there's no ignoring someone like Zion. A ...

Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:September 15, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062389602

ISBN - 13:9780062389602

Customer Reviews of Undaunted: Knights in Black Leather

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reads like a young adult (YA) storyline UNDAUNTED is the first installment in Ronnie Douglas’s (aka Melissa Marr) contemporary, new adult Knights in Black Leather MC romance series. This is twenty year old college student/bartender Aubrey Evans, and Zion aka Killer’s storyline. Told from first person point of view (Aubrey) and some third person perspective from Zion UNDAUNTED focuses on Aubrey and Zion’s growing but forbidden relationship. Aubrey is new in town from Portland, Oregon, living with her grandmother, attending Williamsville college in Tennessee and looking for a job when a fellow student Ellen suggested she go check out the local biker bar Wolves and apply for a job. There she will find her ‘knight in black leather’ –Zion-who aided in her rescue a few weeks before when she ended up drunk at a local fair. What ensues is a forbidden relationship between Zion and Aubrey-one that goes against the Wolves MC and biker bar laws. Throughout the story there are several incidences of property abuse and attacks against Aubrey’s grandmother’s home and neighborhood but Grandma Maureen has some deep connections to the Wolves MC, and with it comes years of familiarity and a friendship wherein Aubrey and Grandma have the promise of protection from MC President Echo, Zion and the Club. The relationship between Aubrey and Zion is one of immediate attraction but Aubrey has a multi-year plan that doesn’t include dating or getting involved with any man. Zion continues to pursue Aubrey who is constantly sending out mixed signals and in this I had some difficult times with Aubrey’s character and her wishy-washy attempts to stay away from Zion. There is also the potential for a love triangle with Zion’s cousin Noah, and throughout the story my anxiety continued to build as Aubrey played one cousin against the other. Not only is Aubrey the new girl in town, but she has caught the eye of every eligible young man. I thought I was reading a YA storyline-the build up, lack of romance and one lone (mostly implied) sexual encounter did not read like a new adult or adult storyline but a premise directed at the young adult or teen reader. Aubrey’s ‘no dating policy’, her attitudes towards her ‘virginity or lack thereof’ and the parents as representations of all things corrupt and the epitome of dysfunctional parenting, all screamed young adult and not NA. When I looked further into the author, I discovered Ronnie Douglas is the alter ego of prolific and number one selling young adult author Melissa Marr and thusly my thoughts about the YA connections were confirmed. There are several charismatic and colorful secondary and supporting characters throughout the storyline that are the backbone of the story and kept everything on track: Uncle Karl, Echo, Nash, Ellen, Grandma Maureen and all of Grandma’s neighbors and friends. Grandma’s connections to the Wolves MC and especially Club president Echo were touched upon briefly but I wish there was more background and history revealed between a number of these characters-in fact, there is very little background and history revealed about most of the storyline characters including our leading couple. For me, or any reader, to be pulled into a story we need history and background to understand the mindsets and emotions of the characters. UNDAUNTED is not your typical MC storyline but a much tamer and vanilla version. If you are a die-hard MC series fan, UNDAUNTED will probably be a disappointment as it is missing most of the MC dark and dangerous habits and storyline tropes, but if you are a fan of YA type storylines, then UNDAUNTED may be for you.
Date published: 2015-09-23

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Douglas has pulled from several hot tropes to craft an engaging, quick read that brings top-notch chemistry to each page.”