Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots by Deborah Feldman

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

byDeborah Feldman

Kobo ebook | February 14, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

Title:Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic RootsFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:February 14, 2012Publisher:Simon & SchusterLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1439187029

ISBN - 13:9781439187029

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thought provoking I am always fascinated to learn about cultures that I personally have had little experience with. It is even more interesting to get the information that few 'outsiders' know, even just the little bits of daily life and routines that are not always visible. I found this to be a respectful (in my opinion) examination of one person's experience and decision to leave her community.
Date published: 2016-12-15