Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions About Sex and Desire by Jennifer Wright KnustUnprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions About Sex and Desire by Jennifer Wright Knust

Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions About Sex and Desire

byJennifer Wright Knust

Paperback | February 7, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.79 online 
$19.99 list price save 11%
Earn 89 plum® points
Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

“An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar.” —Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus

Boston University’s cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bible’s contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhman’s Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spong’s Sins of Scripture, Knust’s Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing—the fickle dos and don’ts—so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knust’s powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.
Jennifer Wright Knust is assistant professor of religion at Boston University. She is an ordained American Baptist pastor, and holds a doctorate in religion from Columbia University and a master of divinity from Union Theological Seminary.
Loading
Title:Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions About Sex and DesireFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.88 inPublished:February 7, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061725390

ISBN - 13:9780061725395

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“[An] impressive and highly readable analysis of Old and New Testament Bible stories.... For those wanting to understand the Bible as a chronicle of human conduct for achieving the goals of survival, peace, and fulfillment, this is a treasure.”