Untimely Death: A Shakespeare In The Catskills Mystery

Hardcover | November 10, 2015

byElizabeth J. Duncan

not yet rated|write a review
A Catskills resort's production of Shakespeare'sRomeo and Juliet takes a wickedly ironic turn when the leading lady, Lauren Richmond, is first poisoned and then stabbed. Who would extinguish the life of such a beautiful young thespian? Who wouldn't? Seems like just about everyone had a motive to pull the ropes on her final curtain call.At the center of this Shakespearian tragedy is Charlotte Fairfax, formerly the costume mistress of the Royal Shakespeare Company. Upstate New York is a long way from the royal stage, but Charlotte is always the queen of her domain. As this small production's costume designer, she has stitched her way into everyone's lives, learning more than anyone could possibly imagine about the rise and fall of Lauren Richmond. But curiosity killed the cat. And it might well kill the costume designer.Witty and wise work,Untimely Death, the first in Elizabeth J. Duncan's charming cozy series, is sure to delight.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.22 online
$36.95 list price (save 39%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A Catskills resort's production of Shakespeare'sRomeo and Juliet takes a wickedly ironic turn when the leading lady, Lauren Richmond, is first poisoned and then stabbed. Who would extinguish the life of such a beautiful young thespian? Who wouldn't? Seems like just about everyone had a motive to pull the ropes on her final curtain call...

Elizabeth J. Duncan is the author of the beloved Penny Brannigan mystery series set in North Wales. A former editor and broadcaster in England, Elizabeth is currently an instructor at the Humber School for Writers in Ontario, Canada.

other books by Elizabeth J. Duncan

Murder Is For Keeps: A Penny Brannigan Mystery
Murder Is For Keeps: A Penny Brannigan Mystery

Hardcover|May 2 2017

$33.81 online$37.99list price(save 11%)
Slated for Death: A Penny Brannigan Mystery
Slated for Death: A Penny Brannigan Mystery

Hardcover|Apr 14 2015

$18.63 online$29.99list price(save 37%)
The Cold Light of Mourning: A Mystery
The Cold Light of Mourning: A Mystery

Mass Market Paperback|Jun 29 2010

$9.99

see all books by Elizabeth J. Duncan
Format:HardcoverDimensions:228 pages, 8.45 × 5.85 × 0.99 inPublished:November 10, 2015Publisher:Crooked Lane BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:162953191X

ISBN - 13:9781629531915

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Untimely Death: A Shakespeare In The Catskills Mystery

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise forUntimely Death: SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 BONY BLITHE AWARD What could have more charm than a cozy set in the Catskills?... Duncan drops just enough clues and red herrings to keep the reader guessing whodunit to the end." - Publishers Weekly"Duncan introduces a charming new sleuth and plenty of quirky characters sure to appeal to her base and to cozy fans in general." - Kirkus Reviews"Sympathetic, well-drawn characters and fascinating details on Shakespeare's plays and costume design add to what is a satisfying mystery." - Booklist"An impressively crafted mystery that is a fully absorbing and inherently fascinating read from beginning to end... very highly recommended." - Midwest Book Review"Readers of the cozy mystery genre should definitely check outUntimely Death." - Noir Journal Praise for Elizabeth J. Duncan: Winner of the Minotaur/Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition"Fans of Louise Penny will love this book." - RT Reviews onA Brush with Death"Sure to appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Agatha Christie." - Library Journal onA Brush with Death"Right up there with the best." - Kirkus Reviews onA Brush with Death"A really good British cozy... With lots of action and local color, Duncan's book is a perfect spring getaway." - The Globe and Mail onSlated for Death "