Vanishing Girls

Paperback | March 8, 2016

byLauren Oliver

not yet rated|write a review

New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver delivers a gripping story perfect for fans of We Were Liars and I Was Here, about two sisters inexorably altered by a terrible accident.

Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara's beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged.

When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it's too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.56 online
$12.50 list price (save 15%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver delivers a gripping story perfect for fans of We Were Liars and I Was Here, about two sisters inexorably altered by a terrible accident.Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara's beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged.When...

Lauren Oliver (born Laura Schechter) was born in New York City in 1982. She received degrees in philosophy and literaure from the University of Chicago in 2004. She graduated the MFA program at NYU in 2008. She worked briefly as an editorial assistant and an assistant editor at Razorbill, a division of Penguin Books. She left to become...

other books by Lauren Oliver

Replica
Replica

Hardcover|Oct 4 2016

$14.67 online$24.99list price(save 41%)
Before I Fall Enhanced Edition
Before I Fall Enhanced Edition

Paperback|Mar 8 2016

$11.37 online$12.50list price(save 9%)
Delirium
Delirium

Paperback|May 17 2016

$11.24 online$12.50list price(save 10%)
see all books by Lauren Oliver
Format:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.68 inPublished:March 8, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062224115

ISBN - 13:9780062224118

Customer Reviews of Vanishing Girls

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mesmerizing Story of Love and Hate! "Vanishing Girls" a chilling psychological thriller weaves the disappearance of nine-year-old Madeline Snow into the heartbreak of Nick Warren who's struggling to bridge the gap with her estranged and scarred sister Dara after a violent car accident. As she slowly picks up the pieces of her shattered, guilt-ridden life Dara vanishes leaving Nick to search for dangerous clues that may link both vanishings. Mixing "before" and "after" the accident as seen through the eyes of Nick and Dara as well as intermingling their perspectives with emails, diary entries and the realism of snapshots, Lauren Oliver builds a forceful story of intrigue, loss and love that captures the reader and doesn't let go until the surprising ending. Well-developed and absorbing the story heats up when the normally level-headed and sensible Nick is forced to live with her mother and sister when her father feels she's becoming unmanageable. Working to regain a sense of normalcy in her life after her parents' divorce and the accident, and struggling to heal the breach with her sister and her best friend Parker, Nick is swept up in the search for Madeline Snow discovering a link between her disappearance and Dara's. With mind-boggling twists Lauren Oliver builds intensity and suspense as Nick probes the mystery of her sister's wildness diving into the ugliness of the sinister danger in her past, while the search for Madeline Snow increases. Yet, amid all the turmoil Nick takes a summer job at Fanland reconnecting with her best friend John Parker, remembering the bond they had as children and re-igniting their feelings for each other. Gripping as the tension escalates the plots slowly merge, progressing quickly and smoothly to an exciting climax. Lauren Oliver creates all her characters with a complexity and depth that emerges as the story progresses. Nicole (Nick) plagued with dysfunctional parents and haunted by guilt was sensible, clever but lacked a sense of self-worth. Inseparable from her beautiful, wild, competitive and self-absorbed sister Dara, she's filled with an overwhelming compulsion to protect her. Likeable, geeky John Parker Nick's best friend hooks up with Dara only to breakup with her when he finally admits his feelings for her sister. Even Sarah Snow imbues some of Dara's qualities with a selfishness and self-centeredness that gives her a wealth of grief, fear, anger and guilt when her sister Madeline vanishes. I thoroughly enjoyed "Vanishing Girls" and rate this young adult thriller highly. In future I will look for other intriguing novels by Lauren Oliver.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nope Beginning was very slow but when I say beginning I mean the first 3/4 of the book. Jumped around a lot between past and present making it hard to follow especially when it referred to events/people/places from the present in the past (didn't make sense.) Couldn't wait for this book to be over.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Going, Going, Gone The premise sounded great, but it kind of dragged on and then ended disappointingly. A psychological thriller thats been done before, and done better. There were parts of the book that I really liked, but overall i'd say skip it.
Date published: 2016-11-04

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

PRAISE FOR PANIC: “Retains all the tension and excitement of Oliver’s Delirium…A work with sharp corners, dark places, and considerable humanity.”