Vengeance Road by Erin BowmanVengeance Road by Erin Bowman

Vengeance Road

byErin Bowman

Paperback | March 7, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.84 online 
$13.99 list price save 8%
Earn 64 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

* "A thoroughly engrossing read." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

When Kate Thompson's father is killed by the notorious Red Rose Gang for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there's room for love in a heart so full of hate.&nbsp&nbsp
Erin Bowman used to tell stories visually as a web designer. Now a full-time writer, she relies solely on words. She is also the author of Retribution Rails and the Taken trilogy ( Taken, Frozen, and Forged ). She lives in New Hampshire with her family. www.embowman.com
Loading
Title:Vengeance RoadFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.74 inPublished:March 7, 2017Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544938402

ISBN - 13:9780544938403

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman This book wasted no time getting to the action. Smoke is everywhere, blood is tainting the air, and there’s a girl sighting down her Pa’s murderers who’ve got hell to pay. There was loads of shootouts, saloons, gold mines, sweating in the desert, Apache, folklore, and thirsting for revenge in every page. It held true to all the best parts of a classic American Western. Vengeance Road had a bit of everything I love most in storytelling: a kick-butt heroine, life-or-death stakes, action to make my heart pound, and morals that go gray around the edges. This is the kind of book I'll re-read again and again.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman This book wasted no time getting to the action. Smoke is everywhere, blood is tainting the air, and there’s a girl sighting down her Pa’s murderers who’ve got hell to pay. There was loads of shootouts, saloons, gold mines, sweating in the desert, Apache, folklore, and thirsting for revenge in every page. It held true to all the best parts of a classic American Western. Vengeance Road had a bit of everything I love most in storytelling: a kick-butt heroine, life-or-death stakes, action to make my heart pound, and morals that go gray around the edges. This is the kind of book I'll re-read again and again.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What A Western I've only ever read a few westerns, one being the new Walk On Earth A Stranger by Rae Carson, which is very similar to this novel actually, both books starting with a girl who has recently lost everything and then goes on a wild adventure of revenge and gold, all the while pretending to be a boy. Though the books are similar and I did read WOEAS first, I enjoyed this book a lot more. It was realistic, uprooting, depressing, historically accurate, and all around just a really great book with grey, spit-fire characters, a gritty and blood stained plot, and dusty twists that keep you wanting more. I think the thing I loved the most about it was the way it was written; because of the main character's environment and upbringing, her grammar and pronunciation isn't perfect, and Bowman did a fantastic job of integrating that into the novel. I'm almost disappointed it's not a trilogy; I could really use some more Jesse in my life (hot damn), but it's definitely on my top 5 list for standalone novels.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The best Western novel I've read in a long time! What do you get when you combine the West with revenge? Erin Bowman’s Vengeance Road. I don’t think I’ve read a better Western-themed novel in a long time. Her combination of fiction and fact to create this Western-set world is stunning and finishing it gave me that feel-good moment, like watching Old Yeller or reading Little House on the Prairie. Laura Ingalls was one of my favourite authors growing up, so it was great connecting that with Vengeance Road. This novel has tough, gritty characters that are neither black or white, but grey and fast-paced writing that leaves you stunned at every turn of the page. Erin Bowman presents us with the memorable work that is Vengeance Road. The main character, Kate Thompson has been shaped and formed by the world she lives in, giving us this rough character bent on revenge. Kate might even be considered the anti-protagonist, determined to kill the ones who killed her father in cold-blood, aka the Rose Riders. Yet, the reader is still rooting for Kate because her morals are better than the Rose Riders, who don’t care whether the people they hurt are innocent or not. Not only that but Kate grows to have a lot of regrets about her actions, so we see she doesn’t take things lightly. As the novel progresses, Kate reveals more of herself to her companions, Jesse and Will Colton and Liluye, and we see a softer side to this incredibly grey character. I think the most surprising part about her is her love for an edition of Little Women, given as a gift by her father, which ends up being her most treasured possession. Other characters in turn reveal things about themselves. We have Jesse who tells about how he watched his mother die, and how that effected his relationship with his father. Bowman’s characters carry themselves with this hard shell, necessary for surviving, but character development is huge and the cast learns a lot about each other and themselves. Getting to the writing and voice, this was probably one of the strongest parts of Vengeance Road. I was totally and completely inside Kate’s head. This was due to Bowman having the diction represent Kate’s voice and how she’d sound if you had the chance to speak with her - which would be awesome, unless of course you’re a Rose Rider! Kate was taught to read and write by her father so she’s not completely uneducated, but she never went to school (the school having been built when she was 12). Bowman create’s a balance of improper and proper grammar, fitting with the environment Kate’s grown up in. Furthermore, the action is fast-paced and there’s never a dull moment. The plot twists are real, ripping open both the characters’ heart and my own in ways we never saw coming. This heartache and despair is the sort of thing that makes a good Western book or movie - with it we know we’re living in the real world! There was one plot twist that took me by complete surprise, I was hoping the author would come in and say, “just kidding!’. Bowman’s writing captures both Kate and the West extraordinarily well. There were a few things I disliked about Vengeance Road. In the beginning of the novel, after Kate sets out on her search for the Rose Riders, she’s in search of a man called Abe. I was originally confused with this because I thought he was a member of the gang, but it turned out he was a friend of Kate’s father, and if anything were to happen to him, Kate was to find Abe. Something else I’m conflicted about are the ghost stories surrounding the Superstition Mountains - where the gold the Rose Riders are seeking is said to be. My first impression was that we’d hear about it earlier on and more frequently. I did enjoy the way the author set it up, but I am a huge fan of myths and legends so I’m at odds. As a whole, I loved Vengeance Road and hope to read the companion novel Erin Bowman is planning. Both the wonderful and the melancholy moments leave me wanting more from her world and its deeply, intriguing characters! I agree with the comparison to Blood Red Road; this is perfect for fans of Moira Young. There are aspects of both novels that share a similar feel to it, while still being different enough that you wouldn’t go into VR expecting things to occur in the same way as Blood Red Road. I recommend this to people wanting a feel-good, Western-themed novel and characters you can’t help loving, regardless of where their moral compass points. Be sure to check out this book! I received a free eARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-09-15

Editorial Reviews

Teens sick of books that coddle them will enjoy sinking their teeth into Bowman's latest? the book demands the same stoicism from its readers as the heroine herself possesses." - School Library Journal * "Kate's pursuit of the murderous Rose Riders, intertwined with gold-rush greed driving men to madness, makes for a thoroughly engrossing read." - Publishers Weekly, starred review "[Kate] is a hard-riding, tough-talking young woman who can shoot to kill. The story is hers to tell." -VOYA "Readers will be entranced by Bowman's swiftly paced, romantic revenge drama, and historical fiction fans will relish the period clothing, western dialect, and details of everyday life. With plot twists galore and a nice surprise at the end, it's a page turner." - Booklist "A story of grit, love, and deadly revenge that climbs off the page and into your heart-saddle up for a thrilling, harrowing ride!" -Alexandra Bracken, New York Times best-selling author of The Darkest Minds trilogy "A take-no-prisoners heroine with a bloody debt to settle. I'm still breathing in the dust and hot Arizona sun." -Megan Shepherd, author of The Madman's Daughter "Gritty and honest, Vengeance Road captures the heart of the Wild West." -Mindy McGinnis, author of Not a Drop to Drink "Thrilling. . . . Kate is a heroine to be reckoned with." -Jessica Spotswood, author of The Cahill Witch Chronicles "Relentlessly readable, Vengeance Road is a perfect Western. You won't be able to turn in until you get to the very last page!" -Saundra Mitchell, author of The Springsweet "Flinty and fierce, Kate is a formidable addition to the pantheon of tough young adult heroines. Her story and voice crackles to life." -A.C. Gaughen, author of the Scarlet Trilogy "Gold madness, a good-for-nothing posse, and frontier justice: Vengeance Road is everything you could want in a Western." -Jodi Meadows, author of the Incarnate trilogy "This is the kind of book I'll re-read again and again." -Susan Dennard, author of the Something Strange and Deadly series "