Visitation Street: A Novel by Ivy PochodaVisitation Street: A Novel by Ivy Pochoda

Visitation Street: A Novel

byIvy Pochoda

Paperback | January 29, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$3.00 online 
$8.95 list price
Earn 15 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

Chosen by Dennis Lehane for his eponymous imprint, Ivy Pochoda’s Visitation Street is a riveting literary mystery set against the rough-hewn backdrop of the New York waterfront in Red Hook.

It’s summertime in Red Hook, Brooklyn, a blue-collar dockside neighborhood. June and Val, two fifteen-year-olds, take a raft out onto the bay at night to see what they can see.

And then they disappear. Only Val will survive, washed ashore; semi-conscious in the weeds.

This shocking event will echo through the lives of a diverse cast of Red Hook residents. Fadi, the Lebanese bodega owner, hopes that his shop will be the place to share neighborhood news and troll for information about June’s disappearance. Cree, just beginning to pull it together after his father’s murder, unwittingly makes himself the chief suspect, but an enigmatic and elusive guardian is determined to keep him safe.

Val contends with the shadow of her missing friend and a truth she buries deep inside. Her teacher Jonathan, a Julliard School dropout and barfly, wrestles with dashed dreams and a past riddled with tragic sins.

Ivy Pochoda grew up in Cobble Hill, Brooklyn and lived in Red Hook for several years. She is the author ofThe Art of Disappearing. She attended Harvard University, where she studied classical Greek. She also holds an MFA from Bennington College in Fiction. A former professional squash player, she lives in Los Angeles with her husband.
Loading
Title:Visitation Street: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.72 inPublished:January 29, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062249908

ISBN - 13:9780062249906

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“VISITATION STREET is a quiet, literary thriller told in lyrical, exacting prose. It’s in the vein of Donna Tartt’s “The Secret History” or Alice Sebold’s “The Lovely Bones”--Los Angeles Times”