Voice Of America: Stories by E.C. OsonduVoice Of America: Stories by E.C. Osondu

Voice Of America: Stories

byE.C. Osondu

Paperback | October 25, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.65 online 
$18.50 list price save 10%
Earn 83 plum® points
Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

“E.C. Osondu is a man with a clear head and a great ear, writing from crucial places.” —Jonathan Franzen, author of Freedom and The Corrections

“With observant wonder and subtle humor, [Osondu] portrays…our unique capacity for hope and hopelessness rolled together.” —Mary Gaitskill, author of Bad Behavior and Veronica

This collection of vivid, compulsively readable stories marks the debut of Nigerian author E.C. Osondu, winner of the 2009 Caine Prize for African Writing. In the tradition of Wole Soyinka, Nadine Gordimer, J.M. Coetzee, and Chinua Achebe (all patrons of the Caine Prize), Osondu’s stories are wise, soul-stirring, and deeply compelling. In electrifying prose, he articulate the struggles of Nigerian immigrants in America, and refugees, villagers, and ex-patriots in Africa. Voice of America marks the beginning for a brave and remarkable new voice in African Literature.

E.C. Osondu is the author ofVoice of America. Born in Nigeria, he received his MFA from Syracuse University and is the winner of the Caine Prize for African Writing and a Pushcart Prize. His fction has appeared inThe Atlantic,n+1,Guernica, and other publications. He teaches at Providence College in Rhode Island.
Loading
Title:Voice Of America: StoriesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:224 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.5 inPublished:October 25, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061990876

ISBN - 13:9780061990878

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Tinged with hilarity. . . . Osondu juxtaposes the richness and desperation of life ‘on the ground’ in Africa with the actualities of the American dream. . . . He goes beyond mere examination to achieve artistry. . . . This book is essential.”