Waiting For The Barbarians by J. M. CoetzeeWaiting For The Barbarians by J. M. Coetzee

Waiting For The Barbarians

byJ. M. Coetzee

Paperback | October 4, 2004

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.21 online 
$19.99 list price save 28%
Earn 71 plum® points

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

For decades the Magistrate has run the affairs of a tiny frontier settlement, ignoring the impending war between the barbarians and the Empire, whose servant he is. But when the interrogation experts arrive, he is jolted into sympathy for the victims, and into a quixotic act of rebellion which lands him in prison.
J. M. COETZEE’s work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, Boyhood, Youth, Disgrace, Summertime and The Childhood of Jesus. He was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003.
Disgrace
Disgrace

by J. M. Coetzee

$13.54$18.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Foe
Foe

by J. M. Coetzee

$14.14$18.00

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

Diary Of A Bad Year
Diary Of A Bad Year

by J. M. Coetzee

$15.15$18.99

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

Shop this author
Title:Waiting For The BarbariansFormat:PaperbackDimensions:176 pages, 7.78 × 5.09 × 0.45 inPublished:October 4, 2004Publisher:Random House UKLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0099465930

ISBN - 13:9780099465935

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Waiting For The Barbarians

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic This is early work in one of C's greatest, in the vein of Kafka and Conrad on the effects of power and imperialism.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Classic text from Coetzee - one of his best. For fans of Kafka and Conrad.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A truly great read. Coetzee wrote a great book that makes you think. The brilliance that Coetzee displays in his descriptions of events makes the story transferable to many other places and times. I would highly recommend this book to any and all.
Date published: 2008-01-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from But of course they never come. Once the allegoric style has been understood all falls into place in this story about a minor official on the outskirts of an unnamed empire who tries to be a good citizen in spite of and not because of the machinations of the central authority.
Date published: 2007-10-12

Editorial Reviews

"I have known few authors who can evoke such a wilderness in the heart of man. He is an artist of a weight and depth that put him beyond ordinary comparisons...Coetzee knows the elusive terror of Kafka." -- Sunday Times