Walls of Circumstance: Studies in Nineteenth Century Music by Eric Frederick JensenWalls of Circumstance: Studies in Nineteenth Century Music by Eric Frederick Jensen

Walls of Circumstance: Studies in Nineteenth Century Music

byEric Frederick Jensen

Hardcover | December 1, 1992

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 365 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


The nineteenth century was an age of experimentation in music. It was also a time of unfettered individualism that produced compositions in a broad range of musical styles. By focusing on a handful of well-known composers, past studies of nineteenth-century music have tended to overlook the variety and diversity of musical productions characteristic of the day. Walls Of Circumstance offers a fresh appraisal of nineteenth-century styles. Jensen examines the lives and music of eleven composers little known today: Juan Crisóstomo Arriaga, Norbert Burgmüller, Franz Berwald, Henry Hugo Pierson, Sigismond Thalberg, Charles-Valentin Alkan, Hippolyte Monpou, Pietro Raimondi, Giovanni Sgambati, Hermann Goetz, and Guillaume Lekeu. For the first time their musical contributions are placed within the context of nineteenth-century musical and cultural life.
Eric Frederick Jensen (Ph.D., musicology, Eastman School of Music) has written on the music of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries for such journals as The Musical Quarterly, Nineteenth-Century Music, The Musical Times, and The Music Review. He is author of Schumann (2001), and is working on a book on Debussy.
Title:Walls of Circumstance: Studies in Nineteenth Century MusicFormat:HardcoverDimensions:170 pages, 8.76 × 5.62 × 0.62 inPublished:December 1, 1992Publisher:Scarecrow Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0810825880

ISBN - 13:9780810825888

Look for similar items by category:


Editorial Reviews

...recommended for larger collections.