Ward No. 6 And Other Stories, 1892-1895 by Anton ChekhovWard No. 6 And Other Stories, 1892-1895 by Anton Chekhov

Ward No. 6 And Other Stories, 1892-1895

byAnton ChekhovTranslated byRonald WilksIntroduction byJ. Douglas Clayton

Paperback | August 27, 2002

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.08 online 
$16.00 list price save 18%
Earn 65 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Tales of madness, alienation, and insight from a master of the short story

Ward No. 6 and Other Stories 1892-1895 collects stories which show Anton Chekhov beginning to confront complex, ambiguous and often extreme emotions in his short fiction. These stories from the middle period of Chekhov's career include - influenced by his own experiences as a doctor - 'Ward No. 6', a savage indictment of the medical profession set in a mental hospital; 'The Black Monk', portraying an academic who has strange hallucinations, explores ideas of genius and insanity; 'Murder', in which religious fervour leads to violence; while in 'The Student', Chekhov's favourite story, a young man recounts a tale from the gospels and undergoes a spiritual epiphany. In all the stories collected here, Chekhov's characters face madness, alienation and frustration before they experience brief, ephemeral moments of insight, often earned at great cost, where they confront the reality of their existence.

This is the second in three chronological volumes of Chekhov's short stories in Penguin Classics. Ronald Wilks's lucid translation is accompanied by an introduction discussing the increasingly experimental style of Chekhov's writing during this time. This edition also contains an annotated bibliography, chronology and explanatory notes. 

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Anton Chekhov (1860-1904) was a Russian physician and writer of short stories and plays, including the masterpieces 'Uncle Vanya', 'The Seagull', and 'The Cherry Orchard'. Ronald Wilks has translated many Russian works including, for Penguin, those of Gorky, Sologub, Tolstoy, Pushkin, and Chekhov. J. Douglas Clayton is Professor of R...
Title:Ward No. 6 And Other Stories, 1892-1895Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 7.76 × 5.09 × 0.83 inPublished:August 27, 2002Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140447865

ISBN - 13:9780140447866

Appropriate for ages: 18 - 18


Table of Contents

Ward No. 6 and Other Stories, 1892-1895Introduction
Further Reading
Note on Text

The Grasshopper
Ward No. 6
The Black Monk
A Woman's Kingdom
The Two Volodyas
Three Years
The Student

Publishing History and Notes