We Were On a Break by Lindsey KelkWe Were On a Break by Lindsey Kelk

We Were On a Break

byLindsey Kelk

Paperback | January 3, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.15 online 
$16.99 list price save 10%
Earn 76 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

'Witty, funny, warm and wise' Marian KeyesIs it a break? Or is it a blip?'You've just had a holiday,' I pointed out, trying not to yawn. 'Wasn't that enough of a break?'I don't mean that kind of break.'There's nothing worse than the last day of holiday. Oh wait, there is. When what should have been a proposal turns into a break, Liv and Adam find themselves on opposite sides of the life they had mapped out.Friends and family all think they're crazy; Liv throws herself into work - animals are so much simpler than humans - and Adam tries to get himself out of the hole he's dug.But as the short break becomes a chasm, can they find a way back to each other? Most importantly, do they want to?
Lindsey Kelk is an author, journalist and prolific tweeter.Previously a children's book editor and columnist for Marie Claire, Lindsey is now a full-time writer and lives in Los Angeles. She is published in 22 counties and her novels, including the I Heart series, the Tess Brookes About a Girl series and two standalones, have sold over...
Loading
Title:We Were On a BreakFormat:PaperbackDimensions:416 pagesPublished:January 3, 2017Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008175608

ISBN - 13:9780008175603

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this book! I love Lindsey Kelk and this book did not disappoint. It was funny, smart, and heartbreaking at times. As a twenty something sometimes confused about life and love, it was a great light read that I could relate to.
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a funny emotional rollercoaster though a bit reticent at the fact that this was a stand-alone story, compared to the author's other series, it was well written, with plenty of humorous situations and an overall emotional roller coaster. A delightful light read!
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lindsey Kelk pens another delightful read Another witty romantic comedy by my favourite British chicklit author. If you've never read a Lindsey Kelk book and a you need a laugh, start with The Single Girl's To Do List. Your face will hurt from laughing! Then try her "I Heart" series and her "About a Girl" series. Honestly, since I discovered Lindsey Kelk, she's brought chicklit to a higher level for me: from her wit and slapstick humour to the likable characters who are NOT so daft you endlessly roll your eyes. For me no beach holiday or summer is complete without a Lindsey Kelk read. She always makes me laugh! WWOAB did not disappoint. For added humour, follow Lindsey Kelk on Instagram. She is hilarious.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very enjoyable! Cute book. Well written from both male and female perspectives.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rom Com at it's best! Humorous, heartwarming, and absolutely enchanting! This story is told from two different points of view. One is that of Liv, a sweet, intelligent veterinarian eagerly awaiting a marriage proposal from her boyfriend. And the other is Todd, a struggling carpenter who has the perfect proposal in mind. But like most things in life things don’t always work out the way we planned and before long cold feet and bad communication cause things to get completely turned upside down. The writing is witty and crisp, and the characterization is well done, with not only interesting, likable main characters, but a whole slew of unique and quirky supporting characters that will definitely make you smile. Once again, Kelk has written a great rom com about life, love, family, friendship and self discovery that will make you laugh and definitely leave you wanting more.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Read Hilarious, relatable and so entertaining!
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hilarious British humour with a heart We Were On A Break is everything you want British women's fiction to be. The wittiness factor is off-the-charts, and the supporting characters are supportive, happy to lend a helping hand or fire off a hilarious one-liner. There's so much working in this book, but I think the story could've been trimmed here and there. The middle lagged a bit, and at some points, both Adam and Liv, weren't grounded enough. I did enjoy it, though, so if you're looking for a fun read, this could fit the bill! Big thanks to Harper Collins Canada for a copy of We Were On A Break!
Date published: 2016-11-08

Editorial Reviews

'Laugh-out-loud funny, witty, and sharp. this is Bridget Jones's Diary for millennials' Booklist'Full of laugh-out-loud moments. Kelk's latest is a light, fun read that balances humor with examples of what it takes to make a relationship work. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes, Jill Mansell, and Katie Fforde' Library Journal'Witty, funny, warm and wise' Marian Keyes'I defy anyone not to enjoy this slice of superior romantic comedy' RED'Even better, funnier and more emosh than [Lindsey's] previous books' FABULOUS'Clever, funny and poignant' THE SUN'Fun, feisty and fabulous. a brilliant wit that makes it genuinely and effortlessly comic' PRESS ASSOCIATION'Lindsey is the queen of cracking one-liners . hilarious and energetic' Alex Brown'Fantastic, funny - I'm smitten!' Stella Newman'Hilarious. it had me hooked from beginning to end' Joanna ReesPraise for Lindsey Kelk:'This fresh, romantic comedy has a smart and truthful voice and some entertainingly outrageous moments' SUNDAY MIRROR'Witty, hilarious, sexy, pacy. a smart, laugh-out-loud triumph. Just brilliant!' HEAT'When it comes to hilarious romcoms, nobody does it better - I heart Lindsey Kelk!' SUN'Kelk's best yet. You won't be able to put it down' BELLA'Funny, dramatic and wonderfully relatable. Uplifting!' THE CHRONICLE'A bouncy, sexy and LOL-littered gem of a novel' Heat'Funny, cringe-worthy and fast paced. A perfect summer read' Closer'Properly funny' Fabulous'Outrageous, witty, exciting and romantic, we simply adored this sparkling read' Closer'Leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy inside' Company'Kelk has a hilarious turn of phrase and a sparkling writing style' Daily Express