Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia BlockWeetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block

Weetzie Bat

byFrancesca Lia Block

Paperback | July 6, 2004

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.12 online 
$12.50 list price save 11%
Earn 56 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“Transcendent.” New York Times Book Review

“Magnificent.” Village Voice

“Sparkling.” Publishers Weekly

Francesca Lia Block’s dazzling debut novel, Weetzie Bat, is not only a genre-shattering, critically acclaimed gem, it's also widely recognized as a classic of young adult literature, having captivated readers for generations.

This coming-of-age novel follows the eponymous Weetzie Bat and her best friend Dirk as they navigate life and love in a timeless, dreamlike version of Los Angeles. When Weetzie is granted three wishes by a genie, she discovers that there are unexpected ramifications….

Winner of the prestigious Phoenix Award, Weetzie Bat is a beautiful, poetic work of magical realism that is perfect for fans of Laura Ruby, Neil Gaiman, and Kelly Link.

Fifteen years ago Francesca Lia Block made a dazzling entrance into the literary scene with what would become one of the most talked-about books of the decade: Weetzie Bat. This poetic roller coaster swoop has a sleek new design to match its new sister and brother books, Goat Girls and Beautiful Boys. Rediscover the magic of Weetzie Ba...
Loading
Title:Weetzie BatFormat:PaperbackDimensions:128 pages, 7.12 × 5 × 0.26 inPublished:July 6, 2004Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0060736259

ISBN - 13:9780060736255

Appropriate for ages: 13 - 17

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weetzie Bat Delightfully odd. It's a very short novella (has four others in the series), but it's packed full of beautiful prose, magic, and a fun story.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strangest Book I've Read in a Long Time This was such a strange book. It was highly recommended so I read it - in an hour (only 100 pages long) and I can't describe it. Weetzie Bat meets Dirk and they hang out then Dirk says he is gay and they go duck (what they call boys) hunting together and then there's a magic genie and three wishes and Dirk gets a boyfriend called Duck and Weetzie gets a boyfriend call My Secret Agent Lover Man. It is so strange but then you start to get sucked in. A big book called Dangerous Angels has all the Weetzie Bat books together in one collection and I think I'm going to read that because it would be more satisfying to have them all together for alonger read. I might be able to collect my thoughts about it then. Is it a parable? I don't know.
Date published: 2008-01-31

Editorial Reviews

“One of the most original books of the last ten years.”