Welcome To Deadland by Zachary Tyler LinvilleWelcome To Deadland by Zachary Tyler Linville

Welcome To Deadland

byZachary Tyler Linville

Hardcover | August 9, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$28.65 online 
$32.50 list price save 11%
Earn 143 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"Engaging, heartbreaking, and thrilling, with an expert pace that never touches the brakes."-Publishers Weekly(starred review)

In a thrilling debut from Nerdist, a ragtag group of survivors struggles to hold onto hope.

A widespread disease has ravaged humanity-symptoms include: animalistic rage, violent outbursts, and a ravenous hunger for human flesh. The few people left are thrust together to fight for their lives, before the world becomes overrun by the infected. Asher, Wendy, and Rico try to reach an abandoned theme park, hoping for sanctuary. Although fear of the infected is ever-present, the group finds themselves facing some very human concerns, as well as new adversaries.

Asher is Wendy's only friend, and she fears that she'll lose him if he ever discovers the dark secret she's been harboring. Reeling from heartbreak, Asher clings to Wendy as he struggles to heal. Rico is a seventeen-year-old rebel used to ditching school and partying all night-but can he outgrow his debauched behavior in order to protect a six-year-old boy who has suddenly fallen under his care? These three will have to overcome their own demons in order to save not only themselves, but the last vestiges of humanity.
Zachary Tyler Linville is a winner of the Nerdist Sci-Fi and Fantasy Novel Contest. After receiving a degree in film from The University of Central Florida, Zachary went on to work as a costume assistant for TV shows and movies includingBoardwalk Empire, The Cobbler, Rob the Mob,andSee No Evil,and as a production assistant for MTV'sThe...
Loading
Title:Welcome To DeadlandFormat:HardcoverDimensions:350 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.98 inPublished:August 9, 2016Publisher:InksharesLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1941758851

ISBN - 13:9781941758854

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A YA book that actually deals with important YA themes Like most good zombie stories, it's not actually about zombies, but about the people thrust into this weird world. Only a couple of the characters are fully developed and fleshed out, but they are great, interesting and sympathetic characters dealing with real issues (coming out of the closet and drug abuse) that young adults actually deal with it. This story actually shines as a YA book because it actually deals with themes that young(ish) readers can relate to, unlike some books that just use the "YA" "genre" as a short hand for a PG-13 rating. My only complaint is the frustrating ending: it doesn't exist. The story is a slow build to a climax that doesn't really pay off. Cliffhangers and plot threads are left dangling left and right. I know the book is billed as "zombies meet Lost" but it really grabs the wrong part of Lost - the unsatisfying payoffs - instead of the mystery and wonder. (Honestly I completely forgot about the "Lost" connection until a couple of very vague references at the very end.) I know its supposed to set up a series, but that doesn't mean the first book shouldn't have some sort of resolution. The book is still very good - the writing is great and as I said the characters are believable and sympathetic and I find myself invested in their future. It deals with refreshing topics and themes that I think could really hook in an actual young adult audience. I love the steadily ramping pace and I think the mixture of flashbacks and current time are used well. Hopefully the series will do well and this book will serve as a nice prologue, but until then it feels like it's missing that one element to make it great.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Finale It was so great to dive back into these books and experience horror in the truly expert way that Scott Sigler writes it. There were more twists and turns than I could keep track of. I couldn't put it down!
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pandemic Once this book took off I couldn't put it down. Great!
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Couple of plot holes, but overall a good read. Enjoyed under current social commentary on u man nature.
Date published: 2014-02-04

Editorial Reviews

"An intricately woven, fresh take on the zombie genre that keeps you guessing until the very end. Genre fans will absolutely love this thrilling tale of survival, and what it means to be human." -Rachel Heine, Editor-in-Chief, Nerdist"An arresting mix of heartfelt coming-of-age narrative and eating-of-flesh zombie thriller." -Joel Cunningham, Barnes & Noble Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog"Welcome to Deadland takes a fresh bite out of the zombie genre. Inventive, heartbreaking, compelling and highly recommended!" - Jonathan Maberry, New York Times best-selling author of Rot & Ruin and Patient Zero."With Welcome to Deadland, Zachary Tyler Linville firmly establishes himself as a powerful new voice in the horror genre. Part zombie survivalist procedural and part study of the psychological impact of supernatural trauma, Welcome to Deadland opens doors that most of us would prefer to quietly tiptoe past. And you will be very glad that it does. Fans of Max Brooks, Joe McKinney, and Jonathan Maberry will all find something to love in the harrowing, bracing, and, ultimately, deeply affecting world of Mr. Linville." - Scott Kenemore, national bestselling author of Zombie, Ohio