What You Wish For: A Novel

Paperback | May 24, 2013

byKerry Reichs

not yet rated|write a review
If what you wish for is a delightfully bittersweet novel filled with endearing, eccentric characters and situations in the vein of Jennifer Weiner, Jane Green, Marian Keyes, and Meg Cabot, then Kerry Reichs’s What You Wish For is the answer to your prayers. The daughter of forensic crime fiction superstar Kathy Reichs (bestselling creator of the Temperence Brennan mystery series, the basis for TV’s Bones), Kerry Reichs’s writing talent is ingrained in her DNA, as she’s already demonstrated with her previous books, Leaving Unknown and The Best Day of Someone Else’s Life. Her third novel, What You Wish For, is a tender, loving, funny, and unforgettable tale of five “modern” families, each one following a very different road to happiness, and yet another bravura example of Kerry Reichs’s phenomenal storytelling abilities.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$2.00 online
$16.99 list price
Out of stock online

From the Publisher

If what you wish for is a delightfully bittersweet novel filled with endearing, eccentric characters and situations in the vein of Jennifer Weiner, Jane Green, Marian Keyes, and Meg Cabot, then Kerry Reichs’s What You Wish For is the answer to your prayers. The daughter of forensic crime fiction superstar Kathy Reichs (bestselling crea...

From the Jacket

Having a baby is . . . complicated.Dimple knows. She's a successful actress who is turning forty—though her agent and her resume insist she's only thirty-six—and she figures it's now or never. Certainly it's not a good time for an intriguing director to show up at her door with a great script.Eva, fabulous agent to the stars, doesn't w...

Kerry Reichs, a graduate of Duke University School of Law and Stanford Institute of Public Policy, practiced law in Washington, D.C. She is the author ofThe Best Day of Someone Else's LifeandLeaving Unknown.

other books by Kerry Reichs

Leaving Unknown: A Novel
Leaving Unknown: A Novel

Paperback|Oct 28 2015

$5.00 online$23.95list price
Glückliche Umstände: Roman
Glückliche Umstände: Roman

Kobo ebook|Sep 9 2013

$11.09 online$14.40list price(save 22%)
The Best Day of Someone Else's Life
The Best Day of Someone Else's Life

Kobo ebook|Oct 13 2009

$11.99

see all books by Kerry Reichs
Format:PaperbackDimensions:304 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.96 inPublished:May 24, 2013Publisher:Harpercollins PublishersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061808148

ISBN - 13:9780061808142

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another great read from Reichs I adored Kerry Reichs' previous book - Leaving Unknown. (review here) So, I was eager to dive into her latest release - What You Wish For. We are rapidly introduced to the characters who populate Reichs' tale - and they all have one thing in common. Children. The desire to have them or in some cases - to not have them. Dimple was first up. She's a moderately successful actress, closing in on the the end of her ticking biological clock. Can the role of a lifetime beat out her desire to have a child? I did find her opening chapter a bit frenetic and didn't really warm up to this character until midway through the book. Eva has no desire to have children. Will this end her relationship with the man she loves? Or will she change her mind? Maryn has battled breast cancer and won. Before her treatment, she froze eggs with her then husband. They've since divorced and she needs his approval to use the eggs. But his new wife says no. Will he change his mind? And my favourite character - Wyatt. He's the principal of a high school, single and straight and he wants to have a child of his own. He's headed down the surrogacy route. Wyatt was just so warm, caring and innocent. But at the same time he's wise to the ways of his high schoolers. These were some of my favourite chapters. And these four main characters' lives all intersect in the most interesting fashion.... Loved it! Once I had the characters and their lives straight in my head, What You Wish For was an easy, breezy read. Reichs is a clever writer. The amount of puns she worked in between two characters was truly funny. (and some of them were emminently groan worthy!) The banter is light, some situations are quite comical, but there is a depth to What You Wish For that transcends everyday chick lit. Reichs explores the desire to have children from four very different viewpoints with candor and thoughtfulness, allowing the reader to share in each character's decision making - and think about what really consitutes a family. Reichs utilizes Hollywood as a backdrop for her novel. Her sly skewering of televison dramas and starlets made me laugh out loud. Fair warning - have the tissue box close by for the ending. My husband looked at me and asked - are you really crying over a book? Umm - yeah, I got that caught up in the story. Thanks Kerry for yet another great read. Pop this one in the beach bag this summer - you won't regret it.
Date published: 2012-07-04