What's Broken Between Us

Hardcover | December 29, 2015

byAlexis Bass

not yet rated|write a review

From Alexis Bass, author of Love and Other Theories, comes her heartbreakingly beautiful second novel, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything.

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart’s brother got behind the wheel drunk, killed his best friend, and paralyzed his girlfriend. Today, he’s coming home from prison.

Amanda’s been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother’s recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he’s a monster. Still, she loves him. It’s her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again—whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.

A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she’ll let his choice destroy hers.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.53 online
$21.99 list price (save 33%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

From Alexis Bass, author of Love and Other Theories, comes her heartbreakingly beautiful second novel, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything.A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart’s brother got behind the wheel drunk, killed his best friend, and paralyzed his girlfriend. Today, he’s coming ho...

Alexis Bass grew up in Washington, went to college in Arizona, and currently lives in Northern California, where she works in marketing. This is her first novel.

other books by Alexis Bass

Love and Other Theories
Love and Other Theories

Paperback|Dec 29 2015

$12.50

Love And Other Theories
Love And Other Theories

Audio Book (CD)|Dec 31 2014

$40.32 online$45.50list price(save 11%)
Format:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.01 inPublished:December 29, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062275356

ISBN - 13:9780062275356

Customer Reviews of What's Broken Between Us

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic read This book was so good, yet so sad. There's a party. And everyone who is anyone is there. Having a good time, having some drinks. And when it's time to go home, In spite of having too much to drink, Jonathan gets behind the wheel of the car with his girlfriend and best friend also in the car with tragic results. This story is about Jonathan and his family and how they cope with the aftermath. His sister Amanda is a pariah to many, Jonathan has gone from being the person everyone wants to know and be friends with, to someone no one wants to even bring up in conversation much less associate with. Their parents, whose main rule was there are no rules are in total denial. And Jonathan himself is spiralling out of control. And it isn't just Amanda's family that is affected. This book gives so much awareness to the whole drinking and driving issue. Coming from an era where the least drunk person drove home, we had no idea how lucky we were. So many people nowadays still could be Jonathan. This book reveals that anyone could be Jonathan, one split second of a bad decision can have lifetime consequences. Everyone gets a holier than thou attitude when something like this happens when in reality it could have happened to them, they were just luckier. I was so sad for the family. Can you heal after something like that? Life will be forever changed, the elephant will always be in the room. I love a book that makes me think. One that makes me feel and become engrossed in the story. While the main story was of a serious nature, there was some romance in there that fit well into the story and should appeal to a large group of readers, I loved it
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Realistic Being Jonathan Tart’s little sister used to be a good thing, the kind of label that offered protection in high school. Now, a year and a half after he got behind the wheel of a car while he was drunk and killed his best friend, being his little sister means putting on a mask and dealing with the fallout of his unapologetic interview. Amanda Tart still loves her brother and wants to protect him but as she starts getting closer to Henry, a former flame and the boy whose sister was paralyzed in the accident, she starts to see that maybe protecting her brother is destroying her own life. Before I started this book, I was a little worried it would be too similar to Sarah Dessen’s Saint Anything. Both involved the younger sister of a popular boy who’d driven drunk and got caused an accident. Both involved the sister having to figure out who she was outside of being that boy’s little sister and having to deal with the consequences of his actions. There were obvious similarities but overall, the characters and the way they handled the situations that arose were very different and made this book feel different. Amanda for the most part was a likeable and sympathetic character. She didn’t always make the smart choice but she was dealing with a lot so while I didn’t always agree with her, I could understand her viewpoint. The fact that the book was told in her POV also made the character of Jonathan more than just the drunk driver. We saw how his actions affected the whole family, including him, and how they struggled with wanting to help him versus pushing him too hard. There were many times throughout the book when I wanted to shake some sense into the characters, especially Jonathan and Amanda’s parents. Their son was home after an extremely lenient sentence and was spiraling and they were nowhere. I could understand their fear of being too harsh and pushing him away but their inaction just made it easier for him to continue his downward spiral. From the flashbacks and some moments with Amanda, Jonathan seemed like a decent guy who just loved to party, made the biggest mistake of his life, and now had to deal with what had happened. And no one was making him face it so he used any way he could to avoid it. I didn’t enjoy the cheating that came from the attraction between Amanda and Henry, Sutton’s brother who was also Jonathan’s girlfriend before the crash. I did like them together, but as least have the decency to break up with your girlfriend and boyfriend before jumping into a new relationship. With everyone making such horrible decisions throughout the book though, it made sense for cheating to eventually come up. Overall, it was a good book filled with character growth for Amanda and the kind of book that can remind its reader that judging a character’s actions is easy when we’re not in the same position. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-12-15

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“This novel offers a frank, thought-provoking account of one teen’s response to an unbearable, irrevocable situation.”