What's The Big Deal About First Ladies by Ruby ShamirWhat's The Big Deal About First Ladies by Ruby Shamir

What's The Big Deal About First Ladies

byRuby ShamirIllustratorMatt Faulkner

Hardcover | January 3, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.35 online 
$23.99 list price save 11%
Earn 107 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America?  Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?
 
It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House—and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all! 

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President? and Rad American Women from A-Z:Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History...And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.

Praise for What's the Big Deal About First Ladies:

★ "A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, 'remember the ladies.'" --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This title does an excellent job of highlighting the important roles that these women played throughout history....A delightful introduction to America’s first ladies for elementary U.S. history collections." --School Library Journal 

"Packed with interesting facts and illustrated with style, this upbeat overview of America’s First Ladies will entertain kids intrigued by history." --Booklist 
Ruby Shamir (www.rubyshamir.com) worked at the White House for three and a half years, two of which she served in the First Lady’s office. Later, she led Hillary Rodham Clinton’s New York Senate office. Ruby Shamir now works as a writer and literary researcher in the Bronx, NY, where she lives with her husband and three children. Follo...
Loading
Title:What's The Big Deal About First LadiesFormat:HardcoverDimensions:32 pages, 11.75 × 9.25 × 0.38 inPublished:January 3, 2017Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:039954724X

ISBN - 13:9780399547249

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Praise for What's the Big Deal About First Ladies:★ "A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, 'remember the ladies.'" --Kirkus Reviews, starred review"This title does an excellent job of highlighting the important roles that these women played throughout history....A delightful introduction to America’s first ladies for elementary U.S. history collections." --School Library Journal "Packed with interesting facts and illustrated with style, this upbeat overview of America’s First Ladies will entertain kids intrigued by history." --Booklist