When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa by Peter Godwin

When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa

byPeter Godwin

Paperback | April 10, 2008

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.50 online 
$21.00 list price save 26%
Earn 78 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Hailed by reviewers as "powerful," "haunting" and "a tour de force of personal journalism,"When A Crocodile Eats the Sunis the unforgettable story of one man's struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe's spiral into chaos and, along with it, his family's steady collapse. This dramatic memoir is a searing portrait of unspeakable tragedy and exile, but it is also vivid proof of the profound strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

"In the tradition of Rian Malan and Philip Gourevitch, a deeply moving book about the unknowability of an Africa at once thrilling and grotesque. In elegant, elegiac prose, Godwin describes his father's illness and death in Zimbabwe against the backdrop of Mugabe's descent into tyranny. His parent's waning and the country's deterioration are entwined so that personal and political tragedy become inseparable, each more profound for the presence of the other" -- Andrew Solomon, author ofThe Noonday Demon

"A fascinating, heartbreaking, deeply illuminating memoir that has the shape and feel of a superb novel." -Kurt Anderson, author ofHeydey

About The Author

Peter Godwinis an award winning author, journalist and film-maker. Born and raised in Zimbabwe, he studied at Cambridge and Ovford and became a foreign correspondent for theSunday Timesof London and BBC TV. Since moving to the US, he has written forNational Geographic,theNew York Times MagazineandNewsweek.
The Fear: Robert Mugabe and the Martyrdom of Zimbabwe
The Fear: Robert Mugabe and the Martyrdom of Zimbabwe

by Peter Godwin

$17.22$20.99

In stock online

Available in stores

The Roads to Congress 2008
The Roads to Congress 2008

by Sunil Ahuja

$108.79$136.00

Available for download

Not available in stores

The Three of U.S.: A New Life in New York
The Three of U.S.: A New Life in New York

by Joanna Coles

$7.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of AfricaFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1 inPublished:April 10, 2008Publisher:Little, Brown And CompanyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316018716

ISBN - 13:9780316018715

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa

Reviews