When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa

Paperback | April 10, 2008

byPeter Godwin

not yet rated|write a review
Hailed by reviewers as "powerful," "haunting" and "a tour de force of personal journalism," When A Crocodile Eats the Sun is the unforgettable story of one man's struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe's spiral into chaos and, along with it, his family's steady collapse. This dramatic memoir is a searing portrait of unspeakable tragedy and exile, but it is also vivid proof of the profound strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

"In the tradition of Rian Malan and Philip Gourevitch, a deeply moving book about the unknowability of an Africa at once thrilling and grotesque. In elegant, elegiac prose, Godwin describes his father's illness and death in Zimbabwe against the backdrop of Mugabe's descent into tyranny. His parent's waning and the country's deterioration are entwined so that personal and political tragedy become inseparable, each more profound for the presence of the other" -- Andrew Solomon, author of The Noonday Demon

"A fascinating, heartbreaking, deeply illuminating memoir that has the shape and feel of a superb novel." -Kurt Anderson, author of Heydey

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.01 online
$21.00 list price (save 33%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Hailed by reviewers as "powerful," "haunting" and "a tour de force of personal journalism," When A Crocodile Eats the Sun is the unforgettable story of one man's struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe's spiral into...

Peter Godwin is an award winning author, journalist and film-maker. Born and raised in Zimbabwe, he studied at Cambridge and Ovford and became a foreign correspondent for the Sunday Times of London and BBC TV. Since moving to the US, he has written for National Geographic, the New York Times Magazine and Newsweek.

other books by Peter Godwin

Rhodesians Never Die
Rhodesians Never Die

Paperback|Jan 1 2005

$75.49 online$75.50list price
The Fear: Robert Mugabe and the Martyrdom of Zimbabwe
The Fear: Robert Mugabe and the Martyrdom of Zimbabwe

Paperback|Oct 12 2011

$13.88 online$17.50list price(save 20%)
Mukiwa: A White Boy in Africa
Mukiwa: A White Boy in Africa

Paperback|Dec 2 2004

$17.28 online$23.50list price(save 26%)
see all books by Peter Godwin
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1 inPublished:April 10, 2008Publisher:Little, Brown And CompanyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316018716

ISBN - 13:9780316018715

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa

Reviews