When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa by Peter GodwinWhen a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa by Peter Godwin

When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa

byPeter Godwin

Paperback | April 10, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.83 online 
$21.00 list price save 19%
Earn 84 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Hailed by reviewers as "powerful," "haunting" and "a tour de force of personal journalism,"When A Crocodile Eats the Sunis the unforgettable story of one man's struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe's spiral into chaos and, along with it, his family's steady collapse. This dramatic memoir is a searing portrait of unspeakable tragedy and exile, but it is also vivid proof of the profound strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

"In the tradition of Rian Malan and Philip Gourevitch, a deeply moving book about the unknowability of an Africa at once thrilling and grotesque. In elegant, elegiac prose, Godwin describes his father's illness and death in Zimbabwe against the backdrop of Mugabe's descent into tyranny. His parent's waning and the country's deterioration are entwined so that personal and political tragedy become inseparable, each more profound for the presence of the other" -- Andrew Solomon, author ofThe Noonday Demon

"A fascinating, heartbreaking, deeply illuminating memoir that has the shape and feel of a superb novel." -Kurt Anderson, author ofHeydey
Peter Godwinis an award winning author, journalist and film-maker. Born and raised in Zimbabwe, he studied at Cambridge and Ovford and became a foreign correspondent for theSunday Timesof London and BBC TV. Since moving to the US, he has written forNational Geographic,theNew York Times MagazineandNewsweek.
Loading
Title:When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of AfricaFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1 inPublished:April 10, 2008Publisher:Little, Brown And CompanyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316018716

ISBN - 13:9780316018715

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Peter accurately describes and grasps what life is like for the average African middle class person, or intellectual, in recent times. His family may be 'White', but they are in no way reaping the benefits of owning large tracts of lands in Zimbabwe, or in being politically connected. He paints a portrait of life for anyone who eschews corruption and/or sycophancy while living in a dictatorship such as Mugabe's. A book worth reading, for anyone hoping to understand what it is like to be a law abiding, citizen, in a country where the President has run amok, and common sense/ the rule of law, have been thrown out the window. This book could be set in 'Anywhere, Africa', as it portrays life in countries similar to Zimbabwe across Africa.
Date published: 2011-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spell binding! This book was actually recommended by my dentist; who knew that my husband and I spent a year in Mutare Zimbabwe; 1998-99 when my husband taught at Africian Univerisity in the Business School. It brought back alot of memories; but it looks like life there is growing worse year by year. Also the treatment of the Jews and the authors finding; after he became a grown man were stunning. A book not for the faint of heart; but an excellent book I would highly recommend; for all of us who hope for social justice in this shrinking world.
Date published: 2011-04-10