Where Futures End

Paperback | February 7, 2017

byParker Peevyhouse

not yet rated|write a review
"One of the most ambitious YA novels I've ever read."—Tommy Wallach, author of We All Looked Up

In a Cloud Atlas for teens--worlds collide with a mysterious alternate universe. For fans of authors like Marcus Sedgwick, Patrick Ness, Kelly Link, M. T. Anderson, and David Mitchell--who wonder what the future will bring.

     Five teens, five futures: Dylan develops a sixth sense that allows him to glimpse another world. Ten years from now, Brixney must get more hits on her social media feed or risk being stuck in a debtors' colony. Thirty years from now, Epony scrubs her entire online profile from the web and goes "High-Concept." Sixty years from now, Reef struggles to survive in a city turned virtual game board. And more than one hundred years from now, Quinn uncovers the alarming secret that links them all. These are stories about a world that is destroying itself, and about the alternate world that might be its savior. Unless it’s just the opposite.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.34 online
$14.99 list price (save 11%)
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

"One of the most ambitious YA novels I've ever read."—Tommy Wallach, author of We All Looked UpIn a Cloud Atlas for teens--worlds collide with a mysterious alternate universe. For fans of authors like Marcus Sedgwick, Patrick Ness, Kelly Link, M. T. Anderson, and David Mitchell--who wonder what the future will bring.     Five teens, fi...

Parker Peevyhouse teaches part-time at a tutoring center and a K–8 school. She loves puzzles, games, and riddles of all kinds and can't pass up a chance to take in California's amazing scenery. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family. Where Futures End is her debut novel.
Format:PaperbackDimensions:272 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.68 inPublished:February 7, 2017Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0147513456

ISBN - 13:9780147513458

Customer Reviews of Where Futures End

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

* "Tackles ideas about technology, the environment, time, other worlds, and how we relate to one another…This thoughtful, idea-driven read will be appreciated by those who like their dystopian fiction to be a bit more literary."—School Library Journal, starred review* "Strange and compelling."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review"One of the most ambitious YA novels I've ever read. Equal parts fantasy and science-fiction, and presented in five interlocking stories that take place over the course of a century, it's got something to offer just about every reader. Those of us who've been waiting for the next Cloud Atlas have finally found it."—Tommy Wallach, author of We All Looked Up"Midwinterblood meets Donnie Darko. Taut, tragic, and perfectly executed, Peevyhouse's brilliant debut is the intertwined tale of worlds colliding in which truth becomes myth, fate becomes destiny, and tomorrow's past must transcend yesterday's most dreamed of future."—Stephanie Kuehn, Morris Award Winning author of Charm & Strange"[An]ambitious first novel…that keeps readers on their toes. Fans of adventurous, challenging fiction from the likes of A.S. King, David Mitchell, and Marcus Sedgwick should find this an exciting ride."—Publishers Weekly"Peevyhouse's ambitious debut offers readers plenty to ponder."—Booklist"Richly intelligent. . .suitable for fans of Sedgwick's similarly complex The Ghosts of Heaven, and it's an ambitious look at how something that seems small can build into disaster over time. . . . This is one of those rare gems that truly transcend the covers—readers will be left contemplating this world, and many of the characters long after they complete the book."—BCCB