Where The Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

Where The Red Fern Grows

byWilson RawlsRead byAnthony Heald

Audio Book (CD) | October 11, 2005

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$37.55 online 
$42.00
Earn 188 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man’s best friend.
 
   Billy has long dreamt of owning not one, but two, dogs. So when he’s finally able to save up enough money for two pups to call his own—Old Dan and Little Ann—he’s ecstatic. It doesn’t matter that times are tough; together they’ll roam the hills of the Ozarks.
   Soon Billy and his hounds become the finest hunting team in the valley. Stories of their great achievements spread throughout the region, and the combination of Old Dan’s brawn, Little Ann’s brains, and Billy’s sheer will seems unbeatable. But tragedy awaits these determined hunters—now friends—and Billy learns that hope can grow out of despair, and that the seeds of the future can come from the scars of the past.
 
Praise for Where the Red Fern Grows
 
A Top 100 Children’s Novel, School Library Journal's A Fuse #8 Production
A Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPR
Winner of Multiple State Awards
Over 7 million copies in print!
 
“A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased.” —The New York Times Book Review
 
“One of the great classics of children’s literature . . . Any child who doesn’t get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years.” —Common Sense Media
 
“An exciting tale of love and adventure you’ll never forget.” —School Library Journal
 
“A book of unadorned naturalness.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion.” —Arizona Daily Star
 
“It’s a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I can’t even go on without getting a little misty.” —The Huffington Post
 
“A brilliant literary work.” —TeenInk.com
 
“We tear up just thinking about it.” —Time on the film adaptation

About The Author

Wilson Rawls grew up on a small farm in the Ozark Mountains of Oklahoma. There were no schools where he lived so his mother taught Rawls and his sisters how to read and write. He says that reading the book The Call of the Wild changed his life and gave him the notion that he would like to grow up to write a book like it. He shared his ...
Summer of the Monkeys
Summer of the Monkeys

by Wilson Rawls

$7.75$7.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

Innovations in Molecular Mechanisms and Tissue Engineering
Innovations in Molecular Mechanisms and Tissue Engineering

by Jeanne Wilson-Rawls

$171.09$213.75

Available for download

Not available in stores

Details & Specs

Title:Where The Red Fern GrowsFormat:Audio Book (CD)Dimensions:6.2 × 5.4 × 1 inPublished:October 11, 2005Publisher:Penguin Random House Audio Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0307281698

ISBN - 13:9780307281692

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Customer Reviews of Where The Red Fern Grows

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Where the Red Fern Grows A Top 100 Children’s Novel, School Library JournalA Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPRWinner of 4 State AwardsOver 7 million copies in print! “A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased.” —The New York Times Book Review “One of the great classics of children’s literature . . . Any child who doesn’t get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years.” —Common Sense Media “An exciting tale of love and adventure you’ll never forget.” —School Library Journal “A book of unadorned naturalness.” —Kirkus Reviews “Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion.” —Arizona Daily Star “It’s a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I can’t even go on without getting a little misty.” —The Huffington Post “A brilliant literary work.” —TeenInk.com “We tear up just thinking about it.” —Time on the film adaptationFrom the Paperback edition.