Willful Behavior by DONNA LEONWillful Behavior by DONNA LEON

Willful Behavior


Paperback | August 31, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 105 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores


From the acclaimed author of The Waters of Eternal Youth, Commissario Guido Brunetti dredges up dark secrets from Italy's anti-Semitic past in his captivating eleventh case.

Mystery lovers everywhere are addicted to Donna Leon's ever-honorable Commissario Guido Brunetti and her portrayal of Venice's beautiful but sinister byways and canals. In Willful Behavior, Brunetti is approached for a favor by one of his wife's students. Intelligent and serious , Claudia Leonardo asks for his help in obtaining a pardon for a crime once committed by her now-dead grandfather. Brunetti thinks little of it-until Claudia is found dead. Soon, another corpse and an extraordinary art collection lead Brunetti to long-buried secrets of Nazi collaboration and the exploitation of Italian Jews-secrets few in Italy want revealed.
A New Yorker of Irish/Spanish descent, Donna Leon first went to Italy in 1965, returning regularly over the next decade or so while pursuing a career as an academic in the States and then later in Iran, China and finally Saudi Arabia. It was after a period in Saudi Arabia, which she found ‘damaging physically and spiritually’ that Donn...
Title:Willful BehaviorFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 7.75 × 5.03 × 0.54 inPublished:August 31, 2010Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0143117580

ISBN - 13:9780143117582


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brunetti triumphs again No secret why we love this gourmet-gourmand copper wit a conscience as well as a quick brain. This is a great story which as always, will leave you with as many questions as answers
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my Favourites in the Series Book11, in the Commissario Guido Brunetti Mystery Series This novel was originally published in 2002, I knew I had missed it while I read my way through the series so when it was reprinted in 2010; I seized the opportunity to catch up. Ms. Leon’s earlier novels are thoughtful and satisfying in many ways and this one shines, it is a powerful murder investigation that has Brunetti uncovering dark secrets that date back as far as WW11. Claudia, a student of Paola, Brunetti’s wife, asks for help in obtaining a pardon for a crime committed years ago by her now dead grandfather. He is intrigued by this unusual young lady’s request but made little of it until she is found stabbed to death in her apartment. When Brunetti breaks the devastating news to Signora Jacobs, an old Austrian lady and Claudia’s only close friend, he discovers an extraordinary art collection in her modest apartment. Brunetti always the investigator is intrigued and soon learns she was once Claudia’s grandfather’s lover. Could the stunning art collection have come from desperate people selling their prize possessions during the war and be the reason behind the grandfather’s imprisonment…. When Signora Jacobs is also found murdered, Brunetti launches an investigation that will uncover shocking secrets. He discovers evidence hidden deep in the closets of Nazi Collaborators that ultimately reveals the exploitation of Italian Jews during the war…… This is an excellent example of a classic detective murder tale, a thought provoking story that highlights and exposes the way of doing business in a corrupt world. The first few chapters set the scenes really well while at the same time setting a sub-story which has Brunetti struggling to help a friend obtain a construction permit without paying the customary bribe. The characters are memorable, the plot is intricate and multi-dimensional, and the narration is fluid, it subtly and slowly draws the readers into a compelling and atmospheric tale that is interspersed with domestic interludes. Ms. Leon loves to show the personal side of Italian life through food and family interaction, an asset to any story when not overdone. This is one of my favourite novels in this series.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 11th Commissario Brunetti “Willful Behavior” is the 11th Commissario Brunetti book in Donna Leon’s series of books that take place in Venice. This series continues to keep me interested and looking forward to the next book. Jacket cover: In Donna Leon's most powerful novel yet, the murder of a young woman draws Commissario Brunetti into buried secrets daring hack to WWII. When one of his wife Paola's students comes to visit him, with a strange and vague interest in investigating the possibility of a pardon for a crime committed by her grandfather many years ago, Commissario Brunetti thinks little of it, beyond being attracted and intrigued by the girl's intelligence and moral seriousness. But when she is found dead, Claudia Leonardo is suddenly no longer simply Paola's student, but Brunetti's case. Claudia seems to have no discernible living family - her only familial relationship is with an elderly Austrian woman, who was the lover of her grandfather, but was not herself Claudia's grandmother. Brunetti is both intrigued and stunned by the extraordinary art collection the old woman keeps in her small, unprepossessing flat.
Date published: 2011-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is not a new book! I am writing this review as a warning. At first I thought this was a new book but actually it was first published in2003 by Arrow Books in Britain. I am a great fan of Donna Leon's but I find it necessary to check to see whether books really are new. Just check your collection before buying! A couple of her books were published with a different name in England -the Anonymous Venetian (England) is exactly the same as Dressed for Death (U.S.) and A Venetian Reckoning (England) became Death and Judgment in the US I must say it was disappointing to find that Wilful Behaviour was not new because I was really looking forward to yet another Brunetti mystery. A further tip for Leon fans? Buy the audiobooks (even if you have already read the book). David Colacci is a superb reader and it gives a wholly different way of experiencing the book.
Date published: 2010-09-04