Willowgrove

Willowgrove

Paperback | May 31, 2016

byKathleen Peacock

not yet rated|write a review

Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver or Andrea Cremer’s Nightshade, Willowgrove is Kathleen Peacock’s riveting conclusion to the Hemlock trilogy. This final entry in Peacock’s dark, romantic, paranormal suspense series pits friendship against survival, and trust against love.

Ever since Mac’s best friend, Amy, was murdered, Hemlock has been a dangerous place. But now that Mac, her boyfriend, Kyle, and Amy’s ex, Jason, instigated a mass breakout from Thornhill, a werewolf “rehabilitation” camp, the danger has only grown. Fear of the infection spreading is now at an all-time high and anyone with a scar is suspected of being a wolf.

What makes Mac even more afraid, though, are the dark experiments that the warden of Thornhill was performing on wolves in a secret asylum called Willowgrove. Uncovering the truth about what happened may be the only way for Mac to save everyone she loves and end her nightmares for good.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.23 online
$12.50 list price (save 10%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

Willowgrove

Paperback | May 31, 2016
In stock online Available in stores
$11.23 online $12.50 (save 10%)

From the Publisher

Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver or Andrea Cremer’s Nightshade, Willowgrove is Kathleen Peacock’s riveting conclusion to the Hemlock trilogy. This final entry in Peacock’s dark, romantic, paranormal suspense series pits friendship against survival, and trust against love.Ever since Mac’s best friend, Amy, was murdered, He...

Format:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.86 inPublished:May 31, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062048724

ISBN - 13:9780062048721

Customer Reviews of Willowgrove

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Amazing OH MY GOSH!!! I need to take a break. I need for my heart to stop feeling things for just a minute. This book (the whole series in fact) left me always feeling like I had just run a mile at full speed in the freezing cold. It left me a little breathless, it left me with chills and a heavy heart. I wasn't expecting this. I wasn't expecting a teen book to get me in the feels as much as this one did. I know that this book may never win an award and most people will just see it as a cheesey YA book following the same cookie cutter love triangle with a little anguish thrown in recipe that so many have. And that is totally fine. It is that (except with out there really being a love triangle -- Mac always knows who she wants.) But it is also a commentary on so many issues that have plagued us as people and still plague us. It brings to mind the Salem Witch Trials, issues of racism, classism and an ever growing fear of being infected by any number of illnesses and how we treat those people we consider ill. It made me think about the AIDS epidemic and how we treat people with life altering illnesses like that. I am really glad I picked this book up. I am really glad that I sat down and finally decided to read it (after months of sitting on my shelf) As usual with books that I really love my only regret is that it is now over.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing OH MY GOSH!!! I need to take a break. I need for my heart to stop feeling things for just a minute. This book (the whole series in fact) left me always feeling like I had just run a mile at full speed in the freezing cold. It left me a little breathless, it left me with chills and a heavy heart. I wasn't expecting this. I wasn't expecting a teen book to get me in the feels as much as this one did. I know that this book may never win an award and most people will just see it as a cheesey YA book following the same cookie cutter love triangle with a little anguish thrown in recipe that so many have. And that is totally fine. It is that (except with out there really being a love triangle -- Mac always knows who she wants.) But it is also a commentary on so many issues that have plagued us as people and still plague us. It brings to mind the Salem Witch Trials, issues of racism, classism and an ever growing fear of being infected by any number of illnesses and how we treat those people we consider ill. It made me think about the AIDS epidemic and how we treat people with life altering illnesses like that. I am really glad I picked this book up. I am really glad that I sat down and finally decided to read it (after months of sitting on my shelf) As usual with books that I really love my only regret is that it is now over.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECTION I can't even begin to describe my love for this trilogy (if you don't believe me, read both my reviews of Hemlock and Thornhill!). This review will be spoiler free because I want people to know that this trilogy as a whole did not disappoint in the least bit and that the third and final book was everything I wanted it to be! Thank you so much Kathleen Peacock for creating such a refreshing take on the paranormal genre and werewolves. The Hemlock trilogy contains everything I love: Mystery, thrilling pacing, friendship, a fantastic romance, and a kick butt main protagonist. Don't think this trilogy is just a typical paranormal, it contains all that I mentioned in a winning blend. Willowgrove did not disappoint at all. I was never afraid of it being a disappointment, I was afraid of some possible outcomes that Peacock could write in Willowgrove. However, I loved everything about Willowgrove.. even the scenes that made me bawl my eyes out. I had to take a break, cry my heart out, then get back to the book. I love it when authors paint their world and the events in it realistically. Not everything gets their happily ever after and not everything miraculously gets fixed. That's life (even if it is a non contemporary world). The characters make up this book. Mac, Kyle, and Jason. Those three are just so freaking amazing. I love love their friendship, even when it is screwed up, they still manage to love each other unconditionally. Even when it seems like one of them is lost to the rest, they manage to bring each other back. It is truly a friendship to be envied and admired. The love interest (It really isn't a love triangle but I still won't say who because that would be a book 1 spoiler), is just so so sweet and I love him to bits. Mac and him are just the most adorable couple and their romance is just so lovely. It truly restores my faith in YA romances. You guys know how many are underdeveloped or turn to be the main focus of a non contemporary book. However in Willowgrove (and whole trilogy) all I wanted was more of them and the three friends too. Not only that, but two other characters, Trey and Serena also stole my heart. The paranormal aspect in this novel is woven into the novel so naturally. Lupin syndrome is a disease that turns humans into werewolves (shape shifters). There are concentration camps and just so much fear and hatred towards werewolves. Some of our characters are werewolves. Mac's best friend, Amy, was killed by a werewolf. That was the setting to book one. So I didn't spoil anything for you. I just loved the development of the story from Hemlock all the way to Willowgrove; it is very thought out and I was gasping left and right at all the reveals. I can tell you to pick up Hemlock based on many things, either the friendship, the paranormal aspect, the plot progression, the mystery, the fresh take on werewolves, the romance, or even the side characters. There is just so much to love about this whole trilogy as well as the concluding book, Willowgrove. I personally did not have one thing I disliked about Willowgrove. So this point seems like a good stopping point. I am so so very sad that there are no more books to look forward to. The ending was so satisfying but I would still love novellas about some characters *hint hint*. I will definitely be reliving this world soon because I can't stay too much away from the Hemlock world <3 Thank you so much Kathleen for writing such memorable characters and books that have become one of my favorite books I ever read.
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Willowgrove: A Perfect End to the Series Willowgrove is the final piece of a trilogy filled with secrets and lies, danger and deception, Mac barely gets any time to rest before she heads back into the fire, back into the mystery surrounding the camps, the experiments, and possibly still, her best friend's murder. Mac can't stop searching. She uncovers more and more truths in this third book. Truths about Amy, even when she's still dead and still haunting her. Truths about the infection that led to people becoming werewolves, truths about the "rehab" camps and "treatment" centres that were code for inhumane torture. But when everything is discovered, is it the kind of truth you want getting out? What would happen if the world really knew how it all started? Mac's still trying to save everyone, as she always does. And she still keeps a few too many things close when she should be sharing the load. It's a bit of tunnel vision, her need to keep everyone else safe when, physically, she's the weakest. But those flaws make her human. The fear of the other and the hatred that follows, the disgust. It's so prevalent in this book. Take away the werewolves and you have people afraid of other people, people hating other people because of something they can't control. Assumptions and groundless accusations run rampant. At this current point in time, I imagine this hits society close, right where it matters. Fear and suspicion of a subset of society. Increased control. Gun violence. But it is important to remember that with all moments of hate, fear, and oppression, things do get better. They will get better. This is the end what what I've found to be an interesting and thrilling trilogy filled with danger, suspicion, and more than a little romance. After everything Mac's been through, this is the final push to show the world the truth of what happened in the previous book and what led to the events of the first book. This was the best ending the series could've had. Nothing else needs to be said.
Date published: 2015-01-06

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Peacock hold[s] readers with an intense love triangle. Will be enjoyed by fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Stephenie Meyer.”