Winterdance: The Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod

Paperback | February 1, 2001

byGary Paulsen

not yet rated|write a review
Paulsen and his team of dogs endured snowstorms, frostbite, dogfights, moose attacks, sleeplessness, and hallucinations in the relentless push to go on. Map and color photographs.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.97 online
$21.50 list price (save 11%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From Our Editors

In the tradition of Jack London, Gary Paulsen presents an unforgettable account of his participation in the 1,100-mile-long dogsled race called the "Iditarod". For 17 days, Paulsen and his team of dogs endured blinding wind, snowstorms, moose attacks, and more--yet relentlessly pushed on to the end. "The best author of man-against-natu...

From the Publisher

Paulsen and his team of dogs endured snowstorms, frostbite, dogfights, moose attacks, sleeplessness, and hallucinations in the relentless push to go on. Map and color photographs.

GARY PAULSEN has written nearly two hundred books for young people, including the Newbery Honor Books Hatchet, Dogsong, and The Winter Room. He divides his time between a home in New Mexico and a boat on the Pacific Ocean.

other books by Gary Paulsen

Hatchet
Hatchet

Paperback|Dec 26 2006

$9.08 online$9.99list price(save 9%)
Brian's Winter
Brian's Winter

Paperback|Mar 13 2012

$10.53 online$10.99list price
The River
The River

Paperback|Mar 13 2012

$10.50 online$10.99list price
see all books by Gary Paulsen
Format:PaperbackDimensions:272 pages, 9 × 4.75 × 0.63 inPublished:February 1, 2001Publisher:Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0156001454

ISBN - 13:9780156001458

Appropriate for ages: 14

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Winterdance: The Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Read! The Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race is an annual long-distance sled dog race run in early March from Anchorage to Nome. (Wikipedia) Sounds civilized, organized, doable even, right? Like most people, I have seen documentary clips about the race. This book is a whole different animal. Gary Paulsen writes a first hand experience of his preparation for and participation in the Iditarod in 1983. A 'fine madness' is no exaggeration. The first portion of the book deals with his decision to participate in the race; how he obtained his dogs, their daily runs, the trust that is built up as man and dog depend on eachother for direction, guidance and strength and their very survival. This is a man obsessed with his dogs to the point where he literally becomes one with his team - eating, sleeping and running with them twenty-four hours a day. As the book moves into the description of the actual race, it is evident that such a relationship must exist for a team to have any hope of completing. For seventeen days they encounter temperatures of -60 degrees, blinding snowstorms, impassable trails, hunger, sleeplessness, hallucinations, moose attacks and more. - only to finish and immediately have the urge to 'do it again'! Paulsen writes with wonderful detail and a strong sprinkling of humour - there were times I laughed out loud. There were also times I caught my breath at the sheer lunacy of it all! If I had any criticism, I would have had the author leave out the last five pages - I found them unnecessary, but they did not diminish my absolute enjoyment of this excellent book.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winterdance. A wonderful read. I was lent this book by a fellow plant manager who shares with me a love for the outdoors and the north country. This was during one of our quarterly head office meetings and he claimed, as he handed it to me, that it was one of the best books he'd read in years. He recommended that I should read it whilst alone, and most definitely not on an airplane. I took the book home and it sat unopened on the foyer table until the time came around for the next quartely meeting. Wishing neither to keep the book longer than I had already had it nor to admit to my collegue that I hadn't even tried to read it, I took it with me as I left for the airport and, of course, read it on the plane. I made a perfect fool of myself. There are parts of this book which are incredibly funny and I could do absolutely nothing to control my periodic outbursts of laughter. I tried closing the book while wiping the tears away from my eyes and taking a few deep breaths and regaining my composure before diving in again, but it was useless. I was undoubtedly annoying everyone within earshot, but it was impossible to put the book down. This book has been around for a decade, but it was apparently not marketed adequately. It should have and could have been a bestseller. There is some very minor use of obscene language, but it doesn't detract from the beauty, comedy and poignancy of the storyline - this is what I advised my 86-year-old mother-in-law when I ordered her a copy through this site. I also advised her not to read it on a plane.
Date published: 2005-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Disney Movie Based on This book was used to film a Disney movie, Snow Dance, recently in Canmore, Alberta. The book is the funniest read you will have in a long time! Guaranteed to roll on the floor laughing with this one!
Date published: 2002-02-26

Extra Content

From Our Editors

In the tradition of Jack London, Gary Paulsen presents an unforgettable account of his participation in the 1,100-mile-long dogsled race called the "Iditarod". For 17 days, Paulsen and his team of dogs endured blinding wind, snowstorms, moose attacks, and more--yet relentlessly pushed on to the end. "The best author of man-against-nature adventures writing today".--Publishers Weekly

Editorial Reviews

Read for your own pleasure, recommend to the young adults you know, and excerpt to read aloud to younger students Winterdance The Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod Gary Paulson's spellbinding account of his preparation for and running of the Iditarod,.