Woman Alone: A Six-Month Journey Through the Australian Outback by Laine Cunningham

Woman Alone: A Six-Month Journey Through the Australian Outback

byLaine Cunningham

Kobo ebook | November 1, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.79 online 
$13.50 list price save 20%

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

For fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.

At twenty-seven, Laine Cunningham seemed to have it all: tons of friends, a college degree, plenty of all-night parties, and a secure job. Yet every morning she dragged herself through a life that was corporatized and overly industrialized, a life that falsely glamorized everything she was supposed to want.

Guided only by a map pulled from an old copy of National Geographic, she camped in the Australian Outback for six months…and she did it alone.

Traveling in a time before Expedia or Travelocity, and without any guidebook or travel guide from Lonely Planet, the trip was never intended to be a vacation. Instead, it was a search for something deeper, something that lay inside. Cheap plane tickets or the cost of the airfare were far less important than the investment Laine made in herself.

The self-guided adventure tour around the country covered nearly 17,000 miles. Hostels were preferred to hotels, and then only when camping under the stars wasn’t an option. Otherwise, her best accommodation was the red sand and her only travel guide was her instinct about where on the map to explore next.

Told with warm humor and sparked with suspense, the search revealed a woman's most important discovery: herself.

For fans of Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes, Down the Nile by Rosemary Mahoney, Tales of a Female Nomad by Rita Golden Gelman, A Year by the Sea by Joan Anderson, Three Weeks with My Brother by Nicholas Sparks, Now is the Time to Open Your Heart by Alice Walker, This is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett, No Place Like Home by Brooke Berman, A Thousand Days in Venice by Marlena de Blasi, Gorge by Kara Richardson Whitely, My Paris Dream by Kate Betts, What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman, and Graduates in Wonderland.

Title:Woman Alone: A Six-Month Journey Through the Australian OutbackFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:November 1, 2016Publisher:Sun Dogs CreationsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0998224030

ISBN - 13:9780998224039

Reviews

From the Author

For fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.At twenty-seven, Laine Cunningham seemed to have it all: tons of friends, a college degree, plenty of all-night parties, and a secure job. Yet every morning she dragged herself through a life that was corporatized and overly industrialized, a life that falsely glamorized everything she was supposed to want.Guided only by a map pulled from an old copy of National Geographic, she camped in the Australian Outback for six months…and she did it alone.Traveling in a time before Expedia or Travelocity, and without any guidebook or travel guide from Lonely Planet, the trip was never intended to be a vacation. Instead, it was a search for something deeper, something that lay inside. Cheap plane tickets or the cost of the airfare were far less important than the investment Laine made in herself.The self-guided adventure tour around the country covered nearly 17,000 miles. Hostels were preferred to hotels, and then only when camping under the stars wasn’t an option. Otherwise, her best accommodation was the red sand and her only travel guide was her instinct about where on the map to explore next.Told with warm humor and sparked with suspense, the search revealed a woman's most important discovery: herself.Laine Cunningham, a three-time recipient of The Hackney Award, writes fiction that takes readers around the world. Her debut novel, The Family Made of Dust, is set in the Australian Outback, while Reparation is a novel of the American Great Plains. She is the editor of Sunspot Literary Journal.