Woman in White: Wilkie Collins by Random House ValueWoman in White: Wilkie Collins by Random House Value

Woman in White: Wilkie Collins

byRandom House Value

Paperback | October 25, 2009

Title:Woman in White: Wilkie CollinsFormat:PaperbackPublished:October 25, 2009Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0307291774

ISBN - 13:9780307291776

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This my favourite story so far. It is a dense book but it is so enjoyable it feels short. It was ordered online and come in pristine condition. Worth more than the price.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin Clothbound Edition This edition is stunning! Gorgeous addition to my bookshelves.
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Incredible I was assigned this for my english class and i greatly enjoyed it. It was enticing, entertaining and down right enjoyable. A great read
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from one the first mystery novels Collins novel; the Woman in White is credited as being among the first mystery novels written. It is a beautifully written book with a great story. Worth the read
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great stroy!! Classic! Such a beautiful edition! Looks great on any bookshelf too!
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mystery Thoroughly enjoyed this story. Lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing. The use of multiple narrators to lend credence to each of their stories is effective. Which are the unreliable narrators? Is anyone telling the truth? It will keep you on the edge of your seat.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mystery This book was originally published England as a newspaper serial. It was so popular that it then came out in novel form. it is considered one of the first detective stories and the forerunner of modern detective stories. The plot revolves around the search for a mysterious woman in white and everything flows from there. To say anything more would be to give the story away. the story is very detailed and takes lots of twists and turns. A masterpiece of mystery and suspense.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautful Edition!! Stunning clothbound edition of this classics!!
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was impressed I was impressed! I mean, a book written in 1859, who knew it was going to be one of the best mysteries I would ever read? The book started a little slow, but then, the mystery and thriller elements engross you. I would have given this book five stars, but I thought the ending was a bit weak.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic! This is a classic Dickens-era novel. It starts off slow and reading is a bit of a slog, but it picks up after the first couple of chapters. An exciting mystery with some very well-written characters, including utterly despicable villains of the finest sort.
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic! It's a book which keeps you alert to find the solution and answer to a mystery.Read and enjoy !
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worth reading The Woman in White starts off slowly, but picks up its pace a few chapters in. Marian is more likeable and interesting than the protagonist's love interest.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Mystery This is one of the first, and best, detective stories. Recommended for fans of Dickens and Sherlock Holmes.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic This is a classic mystery novel - perfect for those who can't decide whether to read Dickens or Conan Doyle next.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't miss this one The suspense held me right to the end , one of the best I have read
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mystery and Romance I’ve always wanted to read this book but for some reason kept delaying and putting it back to the bottom of the book pile. Now that I’ve turned the last page… I’m not sure why I waited so long to read it…I loved this book. Such a well written Victorian novel. Mystery and romance. Characters who are so well defined, they jumped off the pages and sat down beside me while I read. The words of Wilkie Collins flow. They just flow and meander so effortlessly that reading this book is like drinking a fine glass of wine. I will be raving about this book for some time to come! Lastly, this statement from DailyLit, sums it up very nicely: “Never out of print since its first publication, the mystery of The Woman in White continues to intrigue readers to this day with its ghostly beauty and unforgettable events.” If you haven’t read it…go read!
Date published: 2013-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Victorian for this Generation Xer I expected more from this book given that it is widely considered one of Wilkie Collins' masterpieces and one of the earliest entries into the "mystery writing" genre. Yes, I can excuse the Victorian vocabulary and mannerisms of the writer (and his characters), but I am loathe to accept some of the other things that Collins includes in his novel. For example, the heinous "crime" that must be righted is merely a question of family honour. The villains in the book are described as being evil and vile while also sporting an obvious "gentlemanly" manner towards the protagonists (one of the baddies even has a crush on one of the women involved, and for that reason struggles with his "heinous" crime). I guess the English readers of the mid-1800's would have been disgusted at a gutsy, gory serial killer / madman whodunit written by a more contemporary writer like Jeffery Deaver or Michael Connelly, but this Collins' mystery is too convoluted to enjoy it as what is prescribes to be: a good mystery.
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intriguing I was really curious about this book. First because it is mentioned in other novels I have read, and also because, after having done some research, it is considered to be one of the first mystery novels ever written. I found it fascinating! Yes, it can be a little descriptive at times, but the suspense is very well built and I thought it was very cleverly set up. I really enjoyed it!
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely great If you have no trouble reading the style of Jane Austen then you will find this book very difficult to put down. The story is so compelling that you want to read on and on. A very ingenious detective story in which the author not only keeps a reader's attention but he takes care to cover and explain all characters' actions so a reader never feels left "hanging" because of unexplained scenes introduced.
Date published: 2010-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from typical victorian novel Like most if not all Victorian novels, this book is really long and very descriptive. I gave up after about 400 pages. Any of the good qualities in this book (I've heard it called a 'pychological thriller') are lost in the length and the excruciating detail, in my opinion.
Date published: 2005-04-12