Works of George Eliot (17 Works): The Classic Victorian Novels by George Eliot

Works of George Eliot (17 Works): The Classic Victorian Novels

byGeorge Eliot

Kobo ebook | December 11, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


Mary Ann Evans, known by her pen name George Eliot, was an English novelist, journalist, translator and one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. She is the author of seven novels, including Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), Silas Marner (1861), Middlemarch (1871–72), and Daniel Deronda (1876), most of them set in provincial England and known for their realism and psychological insight.

She used a male pen name, she said, to ensure her works would be taken seriously. Female authors were published under their own names during Eliot's life, but she wanted to escape the stereotype of women only writing lighthearted romances. An additional factor in her use of a pen name may have been a desire to shield her private life from public scrutiny and to prevent scandals attending her relationship with the married George Henry Lewes, with whom she lived for over 20 years.

Her 1872 work Middlemarch has been described by Martin Amis and Julian Barnes as the greatest novel in the English language.


This Book is Contained 17 Works;

 Scenes of Clerical Life

 The Lifted Veil

 Adam Bede

 Brother Jacob

 The Mill on the Floss

 Silas Marner The Weaver of Raveloe

 Felix Holt


 Daniel Deronda

 Impressions of Theophrastus Such

 The Essays of 'George Eliot', Complete

 O May I Join the Choir Invisible! and Other Favorite Poems 

 How Lisa Loved the King


 Brother and Sister

 The Legend of Jubal

 Two Lovers

Title:Works of George Eliot (17 Works): The Classic Victorian NovelsFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:December 11, 2014Publisher:Unsecretbooks.comLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: