You Were Here

Hardcover | February 23, 2016

byCori McCarthy

not yet rated|write a review
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Jandy Nelson.Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can , by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She's not crazy, okay? She just doesn't have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.Jaycee doesn't expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she's joined by a group of unlikely friends , all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and? Mik. He doesn't talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.Cori McCarthy's gripping narrative defiesexpectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world's largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak, and inevitable change.You Were Here is wrenchingly beautiful in its honest and achingly accurate portrayal of grief and how it breaks us-and the way unconditional friendship puts us back together."?Jo Knowles, award-winning author of See You At Harry's and Read Between the Lines"The urban explorers of You Were Here dive deep into the forgotten man-made spaces all around them?and their own feelings of loss, love, and fear. McCarthy deftly intertwines the characters' stories, filling them with authentic pain and heartache as well as soaring moments of grace and humor. I dare you to read it!" ?Maggie Lehrman, author of The Cost of All Things"

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.10 online
$24.99 list price (save 7%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Jandy Nelson.Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can , by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him...

CORI MCCARTHY studied poetry and screenwriting before falling in love with writing for teens at Vermont College of Fine Arts. From a military family, Cori was born on Guam and lived a little bit of everywhere before she landed in Michigan. Learn more about her books at CoriMcCarthy.com.

other books by Cori McCarthy

The Color of Rain
The Color of Rain

Kobo ebook|May 14 2013

$6.99

Breaking Sky
Breaking Sky

Kobo ebook|Mar 10 2015

$10.79 online$13.99list price(save 22%)
Breaking Sky
Breaking Sky

Audio Book (CD)|Mar 10 2015

$38.95

see all books by Cori McCarthy
Format:HardcoverDimensions:400 pages, 8.46 × 6.14 × 1.31 inPublished:February 23, 2016Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1492617040

ISBN - 13:9781492617044

Customer Reviews of You Were Here

Reviews