You Were Here by Cori McCarthyYou Were Here by Cori McCarthy

You Were Here

byCori McCarthy

Hardcover | February 23, 2016

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.99 online 
$24.99 list price save 24%
Earn 95 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Jandy Nelson.Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can , by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She's not crazy, okay? She just doesn't have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.Jaycee doesn't expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she's joined by a group of unlikely friends , all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and? Mik. He doesn't talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.Cori McCarthy's gripping narrative defiesexpectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world's largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak, and inevitable change.You Were Here is wrenchingly beautiful in its honest and achingly accurate portrayal of grief and how it breaks us-and the way unconditional friendship puts us back together."?Jo Knowles, award-winning author of See You At Harry's and Read Between the Lines"The urban explorers of You Were Here dive deep into the forgotten man-made spaces all around them?and their own feelings of loss, love, and fear. McCarthy deftly intertwines the characters' stories, filling them with authentic pain and heartache as well as soaring moments of grace and humor. I dare you to read it!" ?Maggie Lehrman, author of The Cost of All Things"

About The Author

CORI MCCARTHY studied poetry and screenwriting before falling in love with writing for teens at Vermont College of Fine Arts. From a military family, Cori was born on Guam and lived a little bit of everywhere before she landed in Michigan. Learn more about her books at CoriMcCarthy.com.
The Color of Rain
The Color of Rain

by Cori McCarthy

$12.00

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

Breaking Sky
Breaking Sky

by Cori McCarthy

$13.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Now A Major Motion Picture
Now A Major Motion Picture

by Cori McCarthy

$13.34$14.99

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:You Were HereFormat:HardcoverDimensions:400 pages, 8.46 × 6.14 × 1.31 inPublished:February 23, 2016Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1492617040

ISBN - 13:9781492617044

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of You Were Here

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique Unique, couldn't relate to all the characters but still good!
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of a Kind Book This book is unique and utterly captivating. A beautiful story about the loss of the main character's brother. There are comics and drawings, along with the story itself. There is so much suspense to keep a reader going, and the budding romance with make you fall in love with the main characters. This book is an excellent read, and you won't regret picking it up!
Date published: 2017-01-08