Zoobiquity: The Astonishing Connection Between Human And Animal Health by Barbara N. Horowitz

Zoobiquity: The Astonishing Connection Between Human And Animal Health

byBarbara N. Horowitz, Kathryn Bowers

Paperback | April 9, 2013

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.61 online 
$19.95
Earn 93 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Engaging science writing that bravely approaches a new frontier in medical science and offers a whole new way of looking at the deep kinship between animals and human beings.
 
Zoobiquity: a species-spanning approach to medicine bringing doctors and veterinarians together to improve the health of all species and their habitats. In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, this is a remarkable narrative science book arguing that animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients. Through case studies of various species--human and animal kind alike--the authors reveal that a cross-species approach to medicine makes us not only better able to treat psychological and medical conditions but helps us understand our deep connection to other species with whom we share much more than just a planet.
 
This revelatory book reaches across many disciplines--evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine and zoology--providing fascinating insights into the connection between animals and humans and what animals can teach us about the human body and mind.

About The Author

BARBARA NATTERSON-HOROWITZ, M.D., earned her degrees at Harvard and UCSF. She has been a cardiologist at the UCLA Medical Center for twenty years and currently is also a cardiac consultant for the Los Angeles Zoo and a member of the Zoo's Medical Advisory Board. At UCLA's School of Medicine she lectures about cardiovascular physiology,...
Herland and Selected Stories
Herland and Selected Stories

by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

$7.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Details & Specs

Title:Zoobiquity: The Astonishing Connection Between Human And Animal HealthFormat:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.2 × 0.94 inPublished:April 9, 2013Publisher:Doubleday CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0385670621

ISBN - 13:9780385670623

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Zoobiquity: The Astonishing Connection Between Human And Animal Health

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Tremendously interesting and beautifully written.”
—Winnipeg Free Press