Zoobiquity: The Astonishing Connection Between Human And Animal Health

Paperback | April 9, 2013

byBarbara N. Horowitz, Kathryn Bowers

not yet rated|write a review
Engaging science writing that bravely approaches a new frontier in medical science and offers a whole new way of looking at the deep kinship between animals and human beings.
 
Zoobiquity: a species-spanning approach to medicine bringing doctors and veterinarians together to improve the health of all species and their habitats. In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, this is a remarkable narrative science book arguing that animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients. Through case studies of various species--human and animal kind alike--the authors reveal that a cross-species approach to medicine makes us not only better able to treat psychological and medical conditions but helps us understand our deep connection to other species with whom we share much more than just a planet.
 
This revelatory book reaches across many disciplines--evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine and zoology--providing fascinating insights into the connection between animals and humans and what animals can teach us about the human body and mind.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.96 online
$19.95 list price
Ships within 1-2 weeks
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Engaging science writing that bravely approaches a new frontier in medical science and offers a whole new way of looking at the deep kinship between animals and human beings. Zoobiquity: a species-spanning approach to medicine bringing doctors and veterinarians together to improve the health of all species and their habitats. In the tr...

BARBARA NATTERSON-HOROWITZ, M.D., earned her degrees at Harvard and UCSF. She has been a cardiologist at the UCLA Medical Center for twenty years and currently is also a cardiac consultant for the Los Angeles Zoo and a member of the Zoo's Medical Advisory Board. At UCLA's School of Medicine she lectures about cardiovascular physiology,...

other books by Barbara N. Horowitz

Herland and Selected Stories
Herland and Selected Stories

Kobo ebook|Sep 2 2014

$7.99

Fit and Fabulous from Fifty Forward!: Design the Fun Path That Suits You
Fit and Fabulous from Fifty Forward!: Design the Fun Pa...

Kobo ebook|Aug 21 2015

$5.39 online$6.99list price(save 22%)
Wir sind Tier: Was wir von den Tieren für unsere Gesundheit lernen können
Wir sind Tier: Was wir von den Tieren für unsere Gesund...

Kobo ebook|Oct 20 2014

$24.29 online$31.48list price(save 22%)
Format:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.2 × 0.94 inPublished:April 9, 2013Publisher:Doubleday CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0385670621

ISBN - 13:9780385670623

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Zoobiquity: The Astonishing Connection Between Human And Animal Health

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Tremendously interesting and beautifully written.”
—Winnipeg Free Press