We found 20 results
indigoRudy Wiebe


Showing 1 - 12 of 20 Results

Paperback

$17.92 online

$23.00

save 22%

In stock online

Available in stores

The powerful, major book, acclaimed across Canada, from the great-great-granddaughter of Chief Big Bear and Rudy Wiebe, twice winner of the Governor General's Award for Fiction. A story of justice and social injustices, of murder and morality, and of finding…

The Mad Trapper

by Rudy Wiebe

|January 29, 2003

Paperback

$12.73 online

$12.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

When it began, he was just another stranger without a name. When it ended, he was the most notorious criminal in North America, the object of the largest manhunt in RCMP history. This is the story of Albert Johnson, the Mad Trapper, a silent man of superhuman…

Paperback

$17.99 online

$18.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Big Bear (1825–1888) was a Plains Cree chief in Saskatchewan at a time when aboriginals were confronted with the disappearance of the buffalo and waves of European settlers that seemed destined to destroy the Indian way of life. In 1876 he refused to sign…

Paperback

$16.84 online

$16.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

"Sixteen years later Louis Riel would be dressing himself again ... to be hanged by his neck until he is at last, perfectly, dead. 0 my God have mercy." So begins Rudy Wiebe's powerful portrayal of Louis Riel, the mystic revolutionary of the Northwest, and…

Come Back

by Rudy Wiebe

|August 4, 2015

Paperback

$15.07 online

$19.95

save 24%

In stock online

Available in stores

From a 2-time winner of the Governor General's Literary Award, an intense novel of loss, memory and the limitless nature of family love.      Hal Wiens, a retired professor, is mourning the sudden death of his loving wife, Yo. To get…

Paperback

$23.98 online

$25.00

In stock online

Not available in stores

In 1944, as war rages across Europe and Asia, famine, violence and fear are commonplace. But life appears tranquil in the isolated farming settlement of Wapiti in northern Saskatchewan, where the Mennonite community continues the agricultural lifestyle their…

Paperback

$14.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

Christmas in the Prairies means snow and blizzards and bitterly cold winds. But what happens when a warm Chinook wind blows like an unexpected gift down from the Rocky Mountains, turning December into April in the blink of a child's eye? What happens when the…

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

For more than fifty years, Canadian literary legend Rudy Wiebe has been defining and refining prairie literature through his oeuvre of world-renowned novels, histories, essays, and short stories. He has introduced generations of readers far and wide to western…

Paperback

$19.99

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

For readers of Wiebe's Of This Earth : A Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest and Sandra Birdsell's The Russländer . An epic novel on the Mennonite experience, by a Governor General's Award-winning author. From the eBook edition.

First And Vital Candle

by Rudy Wiebe

|September 30, 2006

Paperback

$16.93 online

$16.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

Infused with the same storytelling style and energy that have made him one of Canada's most widely read and respected novelists, Rudy Wiebe's First and Vital Candle is the powerful story of one man's search for meaning, both in the mean streets of our urban…

Paperback

$22.00

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

A rare and marvellous collection by a master teller of tales, together in one volume for the first time. River of Stone brings to readers an appealing selection of Rudy Wiebe's best and most loved writing — and draws us into a world that he has made…

Paperback

$15.75 online

$21.00

save 25%

In stock online

Available in stores

A Discovery of Strangers tells of the meeting of two civilizations – the first encounter of the nomadic Dene people with Europeans – in an imaginative reconstruction of John Franklin’s first map-making expedition in 1819—21 in what is now…