The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone: The Forbidden Stone

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone: The Forbidden Stone

by TONY ABBOTT

HarperCollins | January 7, 2014 | Hardcover

The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone: The Forbidden Stone is rated 5 out of 5 by 1.

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's epic new middle grade series, the Copernicus Legacy, begins withThe Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action. Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this first book in an exciting series that takes the reader all over the globe in a race to find pieces of a mysterious hidden past—before it's too late.

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 432 pages, 7.75 × 5.5 × 1.33 in

Published: January 7, 2014

Publisher: HarperCollins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 006219447X

ISBN - 13: 9780062194473

save 24%

  • In stock online

$16.60  ea

Online Price

$21.00 List Price

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Start to a Promising Series! The Forbidden Stone is about four friends who unwittingly find themselves in a heart-pounding treasure hunt. Wade and Darrell are stepbrothers who, along with Wade?s dad (Roald), cousin (Lily), and her friend (Becca), travel to Germany for the funeral of Wade?s honorary uncle (Henry). Not-really-uncle Uncle Henry was Roald?s erstwhile professor and benefactor of Wade?s most cherished possession?a 17th-century star chart. Sound like a run-of-the-mill story? Well, Abbott keeps you on your toes, starting from the very first chapter. Check out these plot peeks: 1. Uncle Henry sends Roald a coded message the day he dies. 2. The only way to decode the message is to check Wade?s star chart, which Uncle Henry sent him for his seventh birthday. 3. A building collapses in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and an oil tanker sinks in the Mediterranean all around the same time as Uncle Henry?s coded message. 4. When they get to the funeral in Germany, strange people are watching their every move. Not since the multi-author, multi-platform, multi-series 39 Clues saga have I been as excited to start another adventure series like this ? and that?s saying a lot, considering the 39 Clues books and authors are world renowned and beloved. Pick up The Forbidden Stone and mark on your calendars the release dates of the rest of the books. (The first novella, Wade and the Scorpion?s Claw, released this summer, and the second book, The Serpent?s Curse, came out just a couple of weeks ago!) Join Wade, Darrell, Lily, and Becca for the adventure of a lifetime and discover more about the Copernicus Legacy.
Date published: 2014-10-14

– More About This Product –

The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone: The Forbidden Stone

The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone: The Forbidden Stone

by TONY ABBOTT

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 432 pages, 7.75 × 5.5 × 1.33 in

Published: January 7, 2014

Publisher: HarperCollins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 006219447X

ISBN - 13: 9780062194473

From the Publisher

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's epic new middle grade series, the Copernicus Legacy, begins withThe Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action. Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this first book in an exciting series that takes the reader all over the globe in a race to find pieces of a mysterious hidden past—before it's too late.

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

From the Jacket

A secret past can destroy the future

It all begins when Wade Kaplan receives a strange, coded email from his uncle Henry, shortly before the old man's sudden and suspicious death. He sets off for Germany to attend the funeral with his father, Roald, and his three friends Darrell, Lily, and Becca, only to discover that Uncle Henry left them yet another baffling message that they suspect is the key to figuring out how and why he died.

The message leads to a clue, which sends them to a dark and creepy family tomb. The more clues they discover, the farther they travel down a treacherous path toward an ancient, guarded secret. Soon, they are in a breathless race across the globe, running for their lives as a ruthless shadow organization chases them around every corner. Their only hope of saving themselves—and the world that they know—is to find twelve magical relics from a hidden past that will unlock the Copernicus Legacy.

The Forbidden Stoneis the beginning of Tony Abbott's epic new series, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action.

About the Author

Tony Abbott is the author of over a hundred books for young readers, including the bestselling series The Secrets of Droon and the novelsFiregirlandThe Postcard. Tony has worked in a library, in several bookstores, and in a publishing company and has taught creative writing. He has two daughters and lives in Connecticut with his wife and two dogs.

Editorial Reviews

“A sprawling and fast-paced adventure in the great tradition of Robert Ludlum, Ian Fleming, and other masters whose tales loom larger than life. Readers are in for a real treat.”