Chautauqua Serenade: Violinist Ruth Bowers On Tour, 1910-1912

deJay Sherwood

1 septembre 2015|
Chautauqua Serenade: Violinist Ruth Bowers On Tour, 1910-1912 de Jay Sherwood
22,46 $ 
24,95 $ rabais 9 %
Couverture souple
Obtenez 112 points privilègeᴹᴰ
Acheter en ligne
Livraison à une adresse
Expédition gratuite pour les commandes d’au moins 35 $
Cueillette en magasin
Pour savoir si la cueillette en magasin est offerte,
Trouver en magasin
Non vendu en magasin
Les prix et les offres peuvent différer de ceux en magasin


Ruth Bowers had a dream of becoming a professional violinist. In 1910, when traditional careers for women included nursing or teaching, Ruth joined the chautauqua and lyceum tour circuit and hit the road. In the first part of the twentieth century, these popular tours brought music, education and entertainment to millions of people in rural North America. But chautauquas and lyceums also provided employment and fame for many female lecturers and performers. At a time when women did not even have the right to vote, musicians like Ruth Bowers were travelling, becoming financially independent and expanding ideas of what women could do-they were part of the first wave of the women''s liberation of the twentieth century. A remarkably talented violinist from Erie, Pennsylvania, Ruth Bowers performed at venues across North America, from the Atlantic to the Pacific Ocean, and from Texas to British Columbia. Ruth shared the bill with famous people like orator William Jennings Bryan, illusionist Eugene Laurant and impersonator Elma B. Smith. While on tour, Bowers collected photographs, postcards and memorabilia and sent letters home. Using this material from his family archives, along with newspaper articles from the 1900s and research files from the chautauqua collection at the University of Iowa, author-historian Jay Sherwood pieces together the unique life of his grandmother. With over 125 previously unpublished photographs and images, CHAUTAUQUA SERENADE offers readers a backstage pass to the iconic chautauqua tour through the eyes of a young woman with a big dream.
Jay Sherwood is an award-winning historian and retired teacher-librarian who worked in surveying for several years. He is the author of six BC history books. SURVEYING SOUTHERN BRITISH COLUMBIA (the last in the series about Frank Swannell) was a finalist for a 2015 BC Book Prize and a BCHF Historical Writing Award. Sherwood also wrote ...
Titre :Chautauqua Serenade: Violinist Ruth Bowers On Tour, 1910-1912
Format :Couverture souple
Dimensions de l'article :240 pages, 8.9 X 6 X 0.6 po
Dimensions à l'expédition :240 pages, 8.9 X 6 X 0.6 po
Publié le :1 septembre 2015
Langue :anglais
Convient aux âges :Tous les âges
ISBN - 13 :9781927575697

Consulté récemment