Master of Thin Air: Life and Death on the World's Highest Peaks

deAndrew LockPréface dePeter Hillary

|anglais
8 septembre 2015|
Master of Thin Air: Life and Death on the World's Highest Peaks de Andrew Lock
33,18 $ 
34,99 $ rabais 5 %
Couverture rigide
Obtenez 166 points privilègeᴹᴰ
Acheter en ligne
Livraison à une adresse
Expédié en 1 à 3 semaines.Expédition gratuite pour les commandes d’au moins 35 $
Cueillette en magasin
Pour savoir si la cueillette en magasin est offerte,
Trouver en magasin
Non vendu en magasin
Les prix et les offres peuvent différer de ceux en magasin

description

Named one of the Five Adventure Books You Need to Read This Summer” by Backpacker Magazine

For readers of Into Thin Air, riveting high-altitude drama and the passion and drive that inspire outsized mountaineering achievements.

Master of Thin Air opens with a fall that the author very nearly could not stop down an almost vertical rock ramp leading to a three-thousand-foot drop. The qualities that saved him then on K2in addition to his mountaineering know-how and sheer good luckdrove his sixteen-year journey to summit all of the world's eight-thousanders, the fourteen peaks that exceed 8,000 meters (26,000-plus feet) and take climbers into the death zone. Incredibly, he accomplished that feat without the aid of bottled oxygen for every mountain but one. By preference, he climbed solo or in small teams, without Sherpas. During twenty-three expeditions, he spent a total of three years clinging to the sides of dangerous mountains. He lost more than twenty climbing friends and, in April 2014, witnessed Everest's deadliest avalanche.

His book is a riveting, often thrilling account of what it takes to challenge the Earth's highest peaks and survive. It tells of death-defying ascents and even riskier descents, the gut-dropping consequences of the smallest mistakes or even just bad luck, the camaraderie and human drama of expeditions, the exhilaration of altitude. It is also the inspiring story of what motivates a person to achieve an extraordinary dream, a story of passion, resourcefulness, self-motivation, and hopeeven in the most dire moments.

Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Sports Publishing imprint, is proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in sportsbooks about baseball, pro football, college football, pro and college basketball, hockey, or soccer, we have a book about your sport or your team.

In addition to books on popular team sports, we also publish books for a wide variety of athletes and sports enthusiasts, including books on running, cycling, horseback riding, swimming, tennis, martial arts, golf, camping, hiking, aviation, boating, and so much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to publishing books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked by other publishers and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
Andrew Lock was the eighteenth person ever to scale all fourteen eight-thousanders, though he comes from the flattest country on earth. Awarded the Order of Australia for Services to Mountaineering, he has guided multiple teams to the summit of Mt. Everest and other of the highest peaks. A professional keynote and motivational speaker ...
Loading
Titre :Master of Thin Air: Life and Death on the World's Highest Peaks
Format :Couverture rigide
Dimensions de l'article :364 pages, 9 X 6 X 1.3 po
Dimensions à l'expédition :364 pages, 9 X 6 X 1.3 po
Publié le :8 septembre 2015
Publié par :Arcade
Langue :anglais
Convient aux âges :Tous les âges
ISBN - 13 :9781628725735

Consulté récemment
|