Mistakes To Run With: A Memoir

deYasuko Thanh

|anglais
2 avril 2019|
Mistakes To Run With: A Memoir de Yasuko Thanh
24,95 $
Couverture souple
Obtenez 125 points privilègeᴹᴰ
Acheter en ligne
Livraison à une adresse
Expédition gratuite pour les commandes d’au moins 35 $
Cueillette en magasin
Pour savoir si la cueillette en magasin est offerte,
Trouver en magasin
Pour voir les stocks en magasin,
Les prix et les offres peuvent différer de ceux en magasin

description

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER

A devastatingly frank memoir that tears open the past to examine how circumstances--and the choices we make--dictate the people we become, for fans of Educated and The Glass Castle.


Mistakes to Run With chronicles the turbulent life of Yasuko Thanh, from early childhood in the closest thing Victoria, BC, has to a slum to teen years as a sex worker and, finally, to her emergence as an award-winning author. As a child, Thanh embraced evangelical religion, only to rebel against it and her equally rigid parents, cutting herself, smoking, and shoplifting. At fifteen, the honour-roll runaway develops a taste for drugs and alcohol. After a stint in jail at sixteen, feeling utterly abandoned by her family, school, and society, Thanh meets the man who would become her pimp and falls in love.

The next chapter of her life takes Thanh to the streets of Vancouver, where she endures beatings, arrests, crack cocaine, and an unwanted pregnancy. The act of writing ultimately becomes a solace from her suffering. Leaving the sex trade, but refusing to settle on any one thing, Thanh forges a new life for herself, from dealing drugs in four languages to motherhood and a complicated marriage, and emerges as a successful writer.

But even as publication and awards bolster her, she remains haunted by her past.
YASUKO THANH''s story collection Floating Like the Dead was shortlisted for the Danuta Gleed Award and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. One of its stories won an Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Short Story. The title story won the Journey Prize for the best story published in Canada in 2009. Quill & Quire named Floating Like the D...
Loading
Titre :Mistakes To Run With: A Memoir
Format :Couverture souple
Dimensions de l'article :272 pages, 8.24 X 5.72 X 0.71 po
Dimensions à l'expédition :272 pages, 8.24 X 5.72 X 0.71 po
Publié le :2 avril 2019
Publié par :Penguin Canada
Langue :anglais
Convient aux âges :Tous les âges
ISBN - 13 :9780735234413

Consulté récemment
|