Island Of A Thousand Mirrors

deNayomi MunaweeraLu par01

|anglais
2 septembre 2014|
Island Of A Thousand Mirrors de Nayomi Munaweera
33,09 $ 
38,95 $ rabais 15 %
Livre audio (CD)
Obtenez 165 points privilègeᴹᴰ
Acheter en ligne
Livraison à une adresse
Expédié en 3 à 5 semaines.Expédition gratuite pour les commandes d’au moins 35 $
Cueillette en magasin
Pour savoir si la cueillette en magasin est offerte,
Trouver en magasin
Non vendu en magasin
Les prix et les offres peuvent différer de ceux en magasin

description

A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposing sides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil War

Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara and her siblings'' lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents'' ambitions, teenage love, and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodhara''s family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodhara''s life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girl''s.

Saraswathie is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoid-a conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways.

In the tradition of Michael Ondatje''s Anil''s Ghost and Arundhati Roy''s The God of Small Things, Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict, and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to come.

Titre :Island Of A Thousand Mirrors
Format :Livre audio (CD)
Dimensions de l'article :5.7 X 5.2 X 1 po
Dimensions à l'expédition :5.7 X 5.2 X 1 po
Publié le :2 septembre 2014
Publié par :Blackstone Audio
Langue :anglais
Convient aux âges :Tous les âges
ISBN - 13 :9781481508155

Consulté récemment
|