Offre spéciale 3 pour 20 $

STORY OF ARTHUR TRULUV: A Novel

deElizabeth Berg

|anglais
15 janvier 2021|
STORY OF ARTHUR TRULUV: A Novel de Elizabeth Berg
10,00 $
Couverture rigide
Obtenez 50 points privilègeᴹᴰ
Acheter en ligne
Livraison à une adresse
En rupture de stock en ligne.
Cueillette en magasin
Pour savoir si la cueillette en magasin est offerte,
Trouver en magasin
Pour voir les stocks en magasin,
Les prix et les offres peuvent différer de ceux en magasin

description

“I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie Flagg

An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist

For the past six months, Arthur Moses’s days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life. 

Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur—a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur’s kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname “Truluv.” As Arthur’s neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew.

Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.

Praise for The Story of Arthur Truluv

“For several days after [finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv], I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book. Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder we’re all neighbors here.”Chicago Tribune

“Not since Paul Zindel’s classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life. This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should.”People, Book of the Week
Elizabeth Berg is the author of many bestselling novels, including Open House (an Oprah’s Book Club selection), Talk Before Sleep, and The Year of Pleasures, as well as the short story collection The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted. Durable Goods and Joy School were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year. She adapted The Pull of the ...
Loading
Titre :STORY OF ARTHUR TRULUV: A Novel
Format :Couverture rigide
Dimensions de l'article :240 pages, 9 X 5.7 X 1 po
Dimensions à l'expédition :240 pages, 9 X 5.7 X 1 po
Publié le :15 janvier 2021
Publié par :Random House Publishing Group
Langue :anglais
Convient aux âges :Tous les âges
ISBN - 13 :9781400069903
Loading

Consulté récemment
|