The Artificial Silk Girl: A Novel

deIrmgard KeunTraduit parKathie Von Ankum

|anglais
14 juin 2011|
The Artificial Silk Girl: A Novel de Irmgard Keun
27,99 $
Couverture souple
Obtenez 140 points privilègeᴹᴰ
Acheter en ligne
Livraison à une adresse
Expédition gratuite pour les commandes d’au moins 35 $
Cueillette en magasin
Pour savoir si la cueillette en magasin est offerte,
Trouver en magasin
Non vendu en magasin
Les prix et les offres peuvent différer de ceux en magasin

description

In 1931, a young woman writer living in Germany was inspired by Anita Loos''s Gentlemen Prefer Blondes to describe pre-war Berlin and the age of cinematic glamour through the eyes of a woman. The resulting novel, The Artificial Silk Girl, became an acclaimed bestseller and a masterwork of German literature, in the tradition of Christopher Isherwood''s Berlin Stories and Bertolt Brecht''s Three Penny Opera. Like Isherwood and Brecht, Keun revealed the dark underside of Berlin''s "golden twenties" with empathy and honesty. Unfortunately, a Nazi censorship board banned Keun''s work in 1933 and destroyed all existing copies of The Artificial Silk Girl. Only one English translation was published, in Great Britain, before the book disappeared in the chaos of the ensuing war. Today, more than seven decades later, the story of this quintessential "material girl" remains as relevant as ever, as an accessible new translation brings this lost classic to light once more. Other Press is pleased to announce the republication of The Artificial Silk Girl, elegantly translated by noted Germanist Kathie von Ankum, and with a new introduction by Harvard professor Maria Tatar.
Irmgard Keun was born in Berlin in 1905. She published her first novel, GilgióA Girl Just Like Us, in 1931. Her second novel, The Artificial Silk Girl, instantly became a bestseller. After the war, she resumed writing under the name of Charlotte Tralow, enjoying only modest success until her early works were rediscovered and rei...
Loading
Titre :The Artificial Silk Girl: A Novel
Format :Couverture souple
Dimensions de l'article :216 pages, 7.99 X 5.06 X 0.5 po
Dimensions à l'expédition :216 pages, 7.99 X 5.06 X 0.5 po
Publié le :14 juin 2011
Publié par :Other Press
Langue :anglais
Convient aux âges :Tous les âges
ISBN - 13 :9781590514542

Consulté récemment
|