The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predicament

24 avril 1998|
The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predicament de Robert M. Sapolsky
23,00 $
Couverture souple
Obtenez 115 points privilègeᴹᴰ
Acheter en ligne
Livraison à une adresse
Expédition gratuite pour les commandes d’au moins 35 $
Cueillette en magasin
Pour savoir si la cueillette en magasin est offerte,
Trouver en magasin
Non vendu en magasin
Les prix et les offres peuvent différer de ceux en magasin

description

Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize

From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as “one of the best scientist/writers of our time,” a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior.


In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. “The Trouble with Testosterone” explores the influence of that notorious hormone on male aggression. “Curious George’s Pharmacy” reexamines recent exciting claims that wild primates know how to medicate themselves with forest plants. “Junk Food Monkeys” relates the adventures of a troop of baboons who stumble upon a tourist garbage dump. And “Circling the Blanket for God” examines the neurobiological roots underlying religious belief.

Drawing on his career as an evolutionary biologist and neurobiologist, Robert Sapolsky writes about the natural world vividly and insightfully. With candor, humor, and rich observations, these essays marry cutting-edge science with humanity, illuminating the interconnectedness of the world’s inhabitants with skill and flair.
Robert M. Sapolsky is the author of several works of nonfiction, including A Primate's Memoir, The Trouble with Testosterone, and Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers. He is a professor of biology and neurology at Stanford University and the recipient of a MacArthur Foundation genius grant. He lives in San Francisco.
Loading
Titre :The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predicament
Format :Couverture souple
Dimensions de l'article :288 pages, 8.44 X 5.5 X 0.8 po
Dimensions à l'expédition :288 pages, 8.44 X 5.5 X 0.8 po
Publié le :24 avril 1998
Publié par :Scribner
Langue :anglais
ISBN - 13 :9780684838915

Consulté récemment
|