Why We Write About Ourselves: Twenty Memoirists On Why They Expose Themselves (and Others) In The Name Of Literature

ÉditeurMeredith Maran

|anglais
26 janvier 2016|
Why We Write About Ourselves: Twenty Memoirists On Why They Expose Themselves (and Others) In The Name Of Literature de Meredith Maran
24,00 $
Couverture souple
Obtenez 120 points privilègeᴹᴰ
Acheter en ligne
Livraison à une adresse
Expédition gratuite pour les commandes d’au moins 35 $
Cueillette en magasin
Pour savoir si la cueillette en magasin est offerte,
Trouver en magasin
Non vendu en magasin
Les prix et les offres peuvent différer de ceux en magasin

description

In the voices of twenty landmark memoirists—including New York Times bestselling authors Cheryl Strayed, Sue Monk Kidd, and Pat Conroy—a definitive text on the craft of autobiographical writing, indispensable for amateur and professional writers alike.

For readers of Mary Karr’s The Art of Memoir and Judith Barrington’s Writing the Memoir, this follow-up to editor Meredith Maran’s acclaimed writers’ handbook, Why We Write, offers inspiration, encouragement, and pithy, practical advice for bloggers, journal-keepers, aspiring essayists, and memoirists.
 
Curated and edited by Maran, herself an acclaimed author and book critic, these memoirists share the lessons they’ve learned through years of honing their craft. They reveal what drives them to tell their personal stories and examine the nuts and bolts of how they do it. Speaking frankly about issues ranging from turning oneself into an authentic, compelling character to exposing hard truths, these outstanding authors disclose what keeps them going, what gets in their way, and what they love most—and least—about writing about themselves.
 
“It''s possible that Why We Write About Ourselves is the first compilation of memoirists at the top of their game seriously and thoughtfully considering the genre.”
– LA Times

Meredith Maran, a passionate reader and writer of memoirs, is the author of thirteen nonfiction books and the acclaimed novel A Theory Of Small Earthquakes. Meredith also writes book reviews, essays, and features for newspapers and magazines including People, The Los Angeles Times, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, Salon...
Loading
Titre :Why We Write About Ourselves: Twenty Memoirists On Why They Expose Themselves (and Others) In The Name Of Literature
Format :Couverture souple
Dimensions de l'article :272 pages, 8 X 5.3 X 0.6 po
Dimensions à l'expédition :272 pages, 8 X 5.3 X 0.6 po
Publié le :26 janvier 2016
Publié par :Penguin Publishing Group
Langue :anglais
Convient aux âges :Tous les âges
ISBN - 13 :9780142181973

Consulté récemment
|