Your Fathers, Where Are They? And The Prophets, Do They Live Forever? de DAVE EGGERSYour Fathers, Where Are They? And The Prophets, Do They Live Forever? de DAVE EGGERS

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And The Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

deDAVE EGGERS

Couverture rigide | 17 octobre 2016 | Anglais

Détails sur le prix et l’achat

27,95 $

Obtenez 140 points privilègeᴹᴰ

Les prix et les offres peuvent différer de ceux en magasin

En rupture de stock en ligne

En vente en magasin

description

From Dave Eggers, bestselling author of The Circle, a tightly-controlled, emotionally searching novel. Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? is the formally daring, brilliantly executed story of one man, struggling to make sense of his country, seeking answers the only way he knows how.
 
In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at his chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes. He didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now, if Kev can just stop yelling, Thomas has a few questions.
Dave Eggers grew up near Chicago and graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is the founder of McSweeney's, an independent publishing house in San Francisco that produces books, a quarterly journal of new writing (McSweeney's Quarterly Concern), and a monthly magazine, The Believer. McSweeney's publishes Voice...
Loading
Titre :Your Fathers, Where Are They? And The Prophets, Do They Live Forever?Format :Couverture rigideDimensions de l'article :224 pages, 8,78 × 6,37 × 0,74 poDimensions à l'expédition :8,78 × 6,37 × 0,74 poPublié le :17 octobre 2016Langue :Anglais

Les ISBN ci-dessous sont associés à ce titre :

ISBN - 10 :0345809599

ISBN - 13 :9780345809599

Reviews

Critiques

LONGLISTED 2015 – International DUBLIN Literary Award “Book by book, Dave Eggers has pushed to the limit of what he has done before, and then taken one step further into thinner air. His latest novel…may look slim, but it represents another startling leap into new territory…. Eggers has always been an elastic writer, but in Your Fathers he puts his language to the ultimate test.” —Toronto Star “Alert, quick-witted and dogma-averse, and its author works hard to surprise, challenge and confound. The expanding cast of supporting characters…is resistant to assumption and cliché, as sympathy and gravitas emerge in the most unlikely quarters. The result is a book whose themes resonate far beyond its short length. This is a writer on the best kind of roll.” —The Telegraph (5 stars out of 5)“Another work of staggering genius whose unpredictability will keep you turning pages.” —The Record (Kitchener-Waterloo)“An angry and astute investigation into the state of America…. Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola…. Your Fathers is privately and publicly astute, confirming that the writer’s joke about genius in his debut title was not entirely misplaced.” —The Guardian “With each tightly controlled book, Eggers’ fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling.” —The Independent “Lively and fast enough for the casual reader, it also ambitiously confronts a grand history of philosophical angst…. Swift and smart.” —San Francisco Chronicle