1920: The Year of the Six Presidents by David Pietrusza1920: The Year of the Six Presidents by David Pietrusza

1920: The Year of the Six Presidents

byDavid Pietrusza

Paperback | April 8, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.98 online 
$25.50 list price save 13%
Earn 110 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The presidential election of 1920 was among history's most dramatic. Six once-and-future presidents-Wilson, Harding, Coolidge, Hoover, and Teddy and Franklin Roosevelt-jockeyed for the White House. With voters choosing between Wilson's League of Nations and Harding's front-porch isolationism, the 1920 election shaped modern America. Women won the vote. Republicans outspent Democrats by 4 to 1, as voters witnessed the first extensive newsreel coverage, modern campaign advertising, and results broadcast on radio. America had become an urban nation: Automobiles, mass production, chain stores, and easy credit transformed the economy.1920paints a vivid portrait of America, beset by the Red Scare, jailed dissidents, Prohibition, smoke-filled rooms, bomb-throwing terrorists, and the Klan, gingerly crossing modernity's threshold.
David Pietrusza, CASEY Award winner, has authored or edited over thirty books. HisRothstein: The Life, Times, and Murder of the Criminal Genius who Fixed the 1919 World Serieswas nominated for the Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award in the Best Fact Crime category. He lives in upstate New York.
Title:1920: The Year of the Six PresidentsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:592 pages, 9.25 × 6.25 × 1.62 inPublished:April 8, 2008Publisher:Basic BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0786721022

ISBN - 13:9780786721023

Look for similar items by category: