The Story Orchestra: The Sleeping Beauty: Press The Note To Hear Tchaikovsky's Music

IllustratorJessica Courtney Tickle

Hardcover | October 23, 2018

The Story Orchestra: The Sleeping Beauty: Press The Note To Hear Tchaikovsky's Music by Jessica Courtney Tickle
$23.90 online 
$32.99 list price save 27%
Earn 120 plum® points
Prices and offers may vary in store

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


Discover the enchanting world of The Sleeping Beauty in this musical retelling of the ballet—push the button on each beautiful scene to hear the vivid sound of an orchestra playing from Tchaikovsky's score.

Join the King and Queen as they throw a party for their new baby, Princess Aurora. But when a terrible guest arrives and places a curse on princess, the kingdom must find the one special person who can defeat it… As you and your little one journey through the magical scenes illustrated by artist Jessica Courtney Tickle, you will press the buttons to hear 10 excerpts from the ballet’s music.

At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, with details about his composition of Swan Lake. Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms, and musical techniques that make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms.

The Story Orchestra series brings classical music to life for children through gorgeously illustrated retellings of classic ballet stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores.

Manufacturer's note: please pull the white tab out of the back of the book before use. Sound buttons require a firm push in exact location to work, which may be hard for young children. All sound clips are 10 seconds long.
Jessica Courtney Tickleâ?? is an illustrator who graduated from Kingston University in July 2014. Her absolute favorite thing to draw or paint is nature, finding a focus on foliage of any kind as well as children's stories about adventure and exploration. She also has a penchant for drawing theater from music makers to dancers and even...
Title:The Story Orchestra: The Sleeping Beauty: Press The Note To Hear Tchaikovsky's MusicFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:24 pages, 12.2 X 10.8 X 0.75 inShipping dimensions:24 pages, 12.2 X 10.8 X 0.75 inPublished:October 23, 2018Publisher:Frances Lincoln Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1786030934

ISBN - 13:9781786030931

Appropriate for ages: 4

Look for similar items by category: