A Gentleman's Murder by Christopher HuangA Gentleman's Murder by Christopher Huang

A Gentleman's Murder

byChristopher Huang

Paperback | July 31, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.50

Earn 98 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

The year is 1924. The cobblestoned streets of St. James ring with jazz as Britain races forward into an age of peace and prosperity. London's back alleys, however, are filled with broken soldiers and still enshadowed by the lingering horrors of the Great War.

Only a few years removed from the trenches of Flanders himself, Lieutenant Eric Peterkin has just been granted membership in the most prestigious soldiers-only club in London: The Britannia. But when a gentleman's wager ends with a member stabbed to death, the victim's last words echo in the Lieutenant's head: that he would "soon right a great wrong from the past."

Eric is certain that one of his fellow members is the murderer: but who? Captain Mortimer Wolf, the soldier's soldier thrice escaped from German custody? Second Lieutenant Oliver Saxon, the brilliant codebreaker? Or Captain Edward Aldershott, the steely club president whose Savile Row suits hide a frightening collision of mustard gas scars?

Eric's investigation will draw him far from the marbled halls of the Britannia, to the shadowy remains of a dilapidated war hospital and the heroin dens of Limehouse. And as the facade of gentlemenhood cracks, Eric faces a Matryoshka doll of murder, vice, and secrets pointing not only to the officers of his own club but the very investigator assigned by Scotland Yard.
Christopher Huang grew up in Singapore, where he served his two years of National Service as an Army Signaller. He moved to Canada where he studied Architecture at McGill University in Montreal. Huang currently lives in Montreal.A Gentleman's Murderis his first novel.
Loading
Title:A Gentleman's MurderFormat:PaperbackDimensions:300 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.68 inPublished:July 31, 2018Publisher:InksharesLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1942645953

ISBN - 13:9781942645955

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"A mystery that recalls the best of Golden Age detective fiction. With fresh characters and unique twists, Huang has created a whodunit with just the right mix of old and new." -Andy Lewis, The Hollywood Reporter "Dorothy Sayers is alive and well and writing under the name of Christopher Huang. A Gentleman's Murder echoes the traditional mysteries in the best sense: no car chases or explosions, just great characters and a feel for time and place." -Rhys Bowen, New York Times-bestselling author of The Tuscan Child and two-time winner of the Agatha Award "Settings and atmosphere captured perfectly from nearly a century ago, complex characters, and a compelling mystery-Christopher Huang's A Gentleman's Murder is a must read for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry." -Daryl Maxwell, Los Angeles Public Library "A dazzlingly atmospheric debut that transports you to 1920s London. A Gentleman's Murder is a meticulous mystery that will keep you guessing until the end and please fans of both Agatha Christie and Gillian Flynn." -Sarah Nivala, Book Soup