A Gentleman's Murder by Christopher HuangA Gentleman's Murder by Christopher Huang

A Gentleman's Murder

byChristopher Huang

Paperback | July 31, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.31 online 
$20.95 list price save 12%
Earn 92 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Now in development for television with Endeavor Content

"An auspicious debut mystery." -Booklist

"Recalls the best of Golden Age detective fiction." -Andy Lewis, The Hollywood Reporter

"Dorothy Sayers is alive and well and writing under the name of Christopher Huang." -Rhys Bowen, New York Times-bestselling author of The Tuscan Child

"A must read for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry." -Daryl Maxwell, Los Angeles Public Library

"Will please fans of both Agatha Christie and Gillian Flynn." -Sarah Nivala, Book Soup

The year is 1924. The cobblestoned streets of St. James ring with jazz as Britain races forward into an age of peace and prosperity. London's back alleys, however, are filled with broken soldiers and still enshadowed by the lingering horrors of the Great War.

Only a few years removed from the trenches of Flanders himself, Lieutenant Eric Peterkin has just been granted membership in the most prestigious soldiers-only club in London: The Britannia. But when a gentleman's wager ends with a member stabbed to death, the victim's last words echo in the Lieutenant's head: that he would "soon right a great wrong from the past."

Eric is certain that one of his fellow members is the murderer: but who? Captain Mortimer Wolfe, the soldier's soldier thrice escaped from German custody? Second Lieutenant Oliver Saxon, the brilliant codebreaker? Or Captain Edward Aldershott, the steely club president whose Savile Row suits hide a frightening collision of mustard gas scars?

Eric's investigation will draw him far from the marbled halls of the Britannia, to the shadowy remains of a dilapidated war hospital and the heroin dens of Limehouse. And as the facade of gentlemenhood cracks, Eric faces a Matryoshka doll of murder, vice, and secrets pointing not only to the officers of his own club but the very investigator assigned by Scotland Yard.
Christopher Huang grew up in Singapore, where he served his two years of National Service as an Army Signaller. He moved to Canada where he studied Architecture at McGill University in Montreal. Huang currently lives in Montreal.A Gentleman's Murderis his first novel.
Loading
Title:A Gentleman's MurderFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.68 inPublished:July 31, 2018Publisher:InksharesLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1942645953

ISBN - 13:9781942645955

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Interesting Premise But Slow-Paced I always enjoy a historical murder mystery and was looking forward to reading this. The premise of the story is intriguing as it was set in London just after the WW1.Lieutenant Eric Peterkin came back from the war and is now evaluating manuscripts for publication. He is a member of the Britannia Club by family tradition. The newest club member, Albert Benson was found murdered in the club's vault one day and now DI Horatio Parker who may be connected to the murder victim's past is leading the investigation now. Truth be told, I did not finish this book. The plot, writing and storytelling is great but I find the pace is painfully slow. It seems to be getting nowhere until page 30ish, where the murder is committed. There is also too much details in between pages. It's overwhelming and puts me off. This made me reluctant to continue reading the book although I do want to find out how the story ends. But it is overloaded with too much details/information which I find it to be unnecessary at times and this just did not motivate me to continue. Perhaps in future, this book will grab me again. I am upset that I didn't finish this book!
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Complex and compelling A Gentleman’s Murder is a locked-room murder mystery that is both complex and compelling. Christopher Huang has created a protagonist who is both a classic insider through upbringing, while never quite being accepted as equal due to his mixed Chinese/English heritage. Eric Peterkin has a sharp mind and a grim determination to succeed in a situation where others want to maintain the status quo. Set against the backdrop of post Great War Britain, a time of changing values, Huang’s A Gentleman’s Murder is an old-school murder mystery with a contemporary feel.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intersting and enjoyable It's 1924 and Lieutenant Eric Peterkin is a member of a prestigious soldiers-only club in London, like all previous generations of his family. One evening a gentleman's wager is accepted but it results with a member stabbed to death. The previous evening the victim had said that he intended to right a wrong. Peterkin decides to investigate when he believes that he cannot trust the police officer in charge. Problems arise because Peterkin is half Chinese, and many of his suspects suffer to varying degrees from shell shock. An interesting mystery, well-written with well-rounded characters. It also seems to capture the English way of life after the Great War very well. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own
Date published: 2018-07-31

Editorial Reviews

"Huang's impressive debut will delight fans of golden age detective fiction... plotting, characters, and atmosphere are all top-notch." -Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Huang surrounds his engaging lead character with a meaty supporting cast, many of whom quickly become suspects with tantalizing motives. The mystery itself is clever and should keep even the most experienced whodunit finders guessings. We hope [this] will be only the first of many Eric Peterkin adventures." -Booklist"A mystery that recalls the best of Golden Age detective fiction. With fresh characters and unique twists, Huang has created a whodunit with just the right mix of old and new." -Andy Lewis, The Hollywood Reporter "With a steady hand and a sharp eye, Christopher Huang brings a lost world gloriously back to life, skewers it, and uses it to spin an irresistible tale. A Gentleman's Murder offers a rare treat for modern fans of the Golden Age." -Catriona McPherson, Agatha, Anthony, Macavity and Lefty winning author of the Dandy Gilver series "Dorothy Sayers is alive and well and writing under the name of Christopher Huang. A Gentleman's Murder echoes the traditional mysteries in the best sense: no car chases or explosions, just great characters and a feel for time and place." -Rhys Bowen, New York Times-bestselling author of The Tuscan Child and two-time winner of the Agatha Award "Settings and atmosphere captured perfectly from nearly a century ago, complex characters, and a compelling mystery-Christopher Huang's A Gentleman's Murder is a must read for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry." -Daryl Maxwell, Los Angeles Public Library "A dazzlingly atmospheric debut that transports you to 1920s London. A Gentleman's Murder is a meticulous mystery that will keep you guessing until the end and please fans of both Agatha Christie and Gillian Flynn." -Sarah Nivala, Book Soup "A locked room traditional mystery that does justice to its inspirations, even as it aids in the genres continuing evolution." -CrimeReads "In A Gentleman's Murder, we have gentlemen murdering gentleman in a war-exhausted England trying to rebuild itself into something new." -Carolyn Haley, New York Journal of Books "For fans of mysteries who would like an updated Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers." -Liberty Hardy, Book Riot "Christopher Huang's debut novel, A Gentleman's Murder, is set in post-First World War England, but incorporates themes-race, the psychic toll of war-seldom acknowledged in classic mysteries of that era." -Ian McGillis, The Montreal Gazette