A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McginnisA Madness So Discreet by Mindy Mcginnis

A Madness So Discreet

byMindy Mcginnis

Hardcover | October 6, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.49 online 
$21.99 list price save 11%
Earn 97 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery

Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as Asylum and The Diviners as well as television's True Detective and American Horror Story.

Grace Mae is already familiar with madness when family secrets and the bulge in her belly send her to an insane asylum—but it is in the darkness that she finds a new lease on life. When a visiting doctor interested in criminal psychology recognizes Grace's brilliant mind beneath her rage, he recruits her as his assistant. Continuing to operate under the cloak of madness at crime scenes allows her to gather clues from bystanders who believe her less than human. Now comfortable in an ethical asylum, Grace finds friends—and hope. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who will bring her shaky sanity and the demons in her past dangerously close to the surface.

Mindy McGinnis is the author ofNot a Drop to DrinkandA Madness So Discreetand is an assistant YA librarian who lives in Ohio. She cans her own food and graduated from Otterbein University magna cum laude with a BA in English literature and religion. Mindy has a pond in her backyard but has never shot anyone.
Loading
Title:A Madness So DiscreetFormat:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.21 inPublished:October 6, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062320866

ISBN - 13:9780062320865

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved it It does have a boring chapter or two, as all books do, but these chapters are necessary for the surprises that the book will bring you. ALL the way through with exceptions for bits and pieces I was turning page after page and this is the fastest I have ever read a book it was such a great one too. There are a lot of surprises at the end, and I feel the need to say that the story is written in third person, which turned me off at first, but it adds so much detail and depth to the book and you start to get used to it. And when I read the epilogue and the authors note I was so satisfied. The book takes place in a real asylum and one of the characters talks about an alligator in the pond and Mindy says in the author note that there was actually one and she gave links to a photo and the website of the asylum. Im not gonna do a whole summary of the book because I dont want to give anything away. I think you shouldnt read any reviews that will give anything away just read this one and know that its a fantastic book and you will be so surprised. I will definitely recommend this book and read it again soon
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I simply did not like this I received this book with my OwlCrate order. I'm not one for the macabre but the plot certainly sounded interesting. Instead I found this book to be beyond believable with thoroughly forgettable characters and a ludicrous plot. I am not referring to the asylum or Grace's past, but rather what happens after Grace breaks out. Grace Mae is smuggled out of an insane asylum that her deeply twisted father put her in. Dr. Thornhollow is the eccentric, brilliant doctor who smuggles her out. You may think "ooooh, an eccentric and brilliant doctor. How fascinating!" Nah, he's utterly boring and unoriginal. For some reason Grace is such incredible at solving crimes even though she has 0 experience with forensics, the criminal system, investigating, etc. It just made no sense. Not to mention the fact that Grace is seriously mentally unstable. I would be to if I was a victim of incest, but she is not a mentally stable person. Her "dark side" is truly, truly dark. The only character I even liked a little was Grace's friend Nell. Or was it Elizabeth? It was the girl who was dying from an STI. Now she was a unique character and I wish she were the heroine of the story! I found A Madness So Discreet to be surprisingly dull and just not believable.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay but not Great Trigger warning for this one! It has rape and suicide in it so please be cautious when reading my little chickadees. This one was really slow to start and even though I did enjoy it, I thought that it was kinda meh at the same time. I think it is dark and intriguing, which is always a good sign, but I thought the story took way too long to get interesting. I was a huge fan of a piece of the ending but I'm also like ehhh about whether or not you should read it. I thought the characters were all interesting but they kinda felt like carbon copies of other characters I've previously read. When I got to the mystery part of the novel, I thought maybe it was a Sherlock Holmes retelling but that wasn't the case (ish). I feel like the main characters could have just been something more than what they were and that disappoints me. Nell was the best. I loved her back story and she is forever my hero. The mystery itself was really intriguing and what kept me reading. And I LOVED how it was wrapped up. I thought that was something you don't typically see and it made for a REALLY interesting read. However, I thought the actual ending was kinda blah compared to the rest of the story (which is actually saying a lot). It was kind of disappointing how the final conclusion came about after how the 15% or so before it played out. This is one of those ones that seems to be either you love it or you're meh about it. It's not that it's a bad story, it is just really slow. I think if you are interested you should pick it up but maybe from the library before you purchase it.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark, disturbing, addicting Grace Mae knows madness. She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum. When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past. I really liked Not A Drop to Drink so I was really excited for this one. It sounded gritty and dark and interesting and it was a historical setting. As a huge fan of Criminal Minds, the criminal psychology aspect really appealed to me as well. Right from the beginning, I felt for Grace. She found herself in such a horrible situation through no fault of her own. She was smart, compassionate, and loyal but she had a dark side to her. She was very resourceful and I loved how much she wanted to learn about criminal psychology because she seemed genuinely interested, not just to keep up the appearance of being the doctor’s assistant. She had to learn just how capable she was now that she was away from her family. The relationships and interactions Grace had with the other characters in the book were interesting. There was a different dynamic to them, depending on what the other person believed Grace to be. The relationship between her and the doctor, Thornhollow, was the most explored and it was really interesting. They had a great dynamic between them that I really liked. I also really liked the developing friendship between Grace and Lizzie. It gave Grace a female friend and also added some lighter moments to all the darkness. The psychology aspect of the book was really interesting. The observations Thornhollow would make about the killer reminded me a lot of Criminal Minds and it was interesting to see it written in a way where a lot of people weren’t believers because it was so new. It was a little slow to start but once the doctor came into the story and Grace got out of the asylum, things really picked up. The darker the story got and the more that was revealed, the more I wanted to read and know what was going to happen. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-10-13

Editorial Reviews

“Brutal, relentless, and haunting. Every character in A Madness So Discreet is more colorful and unforgettable than the last. With a realistic, emotionally complex, and clever heroine, readers will find themselves rooting for Grace from page one. Her story and McGinnis’s style are too gripping to ignore.”