A Study in Charlotte by Brittany CavallaroA Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

A Study in Charlotte

byBrittany Cavallaro

Paperback | January 3, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.44 online 
$12.50 list price save 8%
Earn 57 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new series about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

Title:A Study in CharlotteFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:January 3, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062398911

ISBN - 13:9780062398918

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely reading the rest of the series! I bought this book as a vacation read and then proceeded to be so tired on my vacation that I didn’t pick it up. I definitely regret that now. This book is good. That being said I will read anything remotely to do with Sherlock Holmes. I am that bad. Or good? I can’t tell anymore. Charlotte and Jamie run the risk of being insufferable, annoying teenagers who think they know everything. But there’s a vulnerability to both of them that keep them from bridging that gap into dangerous territory. The way the mystery was woven into the plot was quite nice, and there was a slow beginning but a rather speedy middle and end. It was a good romp, an adventure with a new kind of Holmes and Watson. I will be picking up the next book.
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Exciting Read! This book was an interesting one to pick up. I was recommended it by a friend, and wasn't all disappointed. The action was intense, and the situations were harrowing yet relatable. The characters were a bit one dimensional, but there's really not much you can do with a retelling of a classic story without changing too much of the original dynamic. It did come across kind of like gender-bent Sherlock Holmes fanfiction, but all in all it was a great read.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great start to a series This book was so much fun and was such an enjoyable read. Cavallaro's take on Sherlock and Watson was so creative and an awesome experience. Though I believe some scenes and plot-points could have been developed more, I immensely enjoyed this book. Very excited to start the next in the series!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great book I loved this book. It was a spur of a moment buy and i'm glad i did. right from page one i was intrigued. It was an excellent mystery and kept me guessing the whole time.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Study in Charlotte Overall, this book was a great read. The book has a modern take on the Conan Doyle stories with a mix of BBC Sherlock, which I personally loved. Anyone into Holmes and Watson will enjoy this book
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! Love that the characters are decedents of the ever so famous Sherlock Holmes and James Watson. A modern twist. Awesome idea.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed it I went into this book knowing nothing about Sherlock Holmes and still managed to understand most of it. The characters were harder to relate to but were great personalities nonetheless. I had problems following the storyline at a few points but that was nothing that re-reading could not fix. The only problem that I had with this story was the development of Charlotte, I still do not completely understand what happened between her and Moriarty. The plot was fast paced and full of mystery. I am very excited to read the next novel in this series.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved This! Great for fans of the show Sherlock! Years after the original Sherlock and Watson, their descendants are thrown into a mystery and solve it like old times as we know it between Sherlock and John. I couldn't put the book down!
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this Immensely I loved the characters in this story -- they're flawed, lovable, and interesting. Charlotte and James are so easy to visualize as real people. The mystery was an interesting take Holmes and Watson's cases. You'll have fun pointing out all the references to the original Holmes canon when you're reading this.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Intersting Story This book is an interesting take on Sherlock Holmes and John Waston. I really enjoyed reading this as it was full of wonderful characters.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings about this one. Some aspects I quite enjoyed, but a lot more that left me feeling disconnected and lukewarm. For the first half or so I struggled to really fall into the story. Watson was (and probably still is upon finishing) the only character I actually feel any sort of attachment to and he has a great voice. Holmes is someone I feel sympathetic for but she wasn't very likable. I have no problem reading about unlikable characters, but I didn't make any connection with her at all. It was refreshing to see the switch in gender dynamics though, with the male Watson far more emotional than the female Holmes, who was extremely straightforward and no-nonsense. This series requires some suspension of disbelief but I think it's definitely doable if you can read it as a (mostly) fun popcorn read. There are quite a few series topics (rape, drugs) mixed into the plot lines and characterizations but the central focus is on James and Charlotte.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I really like this book! It was a fun read and you can't book this book down
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good read it had interesting characters and a good plot
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from pretty fun 3.5 stars I liked the characters and I liked the fun mysteries. it was fun and exciting and shocking when something new and scary happened. I also liked that Charlotte wasn't this perfect, pretty girl. she was so totally flawed, and had horrible qualities, but she had a good heart. I just felt like a lot of the time, they would talk about things in ways that I should know what they were talking about, but I didn't know what they were talking about. I also just wasn't surprised by the ending or anything. it felt a little flat at the end for me.
Date published: 2017-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great New Take on the Holmes and Watson Dynamic I picked this up a while ago, mainly based on the cover, but when I read the dust jacket I instantly new it would be a story I enjoyed. It felt very similar to the original Doyle stories as if these two teenagers were truly the decedents of Sherlock and John. Great read!
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my new favourite series! I absolutely adored this book!!! I can't wait to read the next one!
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Refreshing new addition to the Sherlock Holmes world This book takes place in present day with the descendants of Sherlock Holmes who must solve a mystery, battle with teenage insecurities (mostly James Watson), and fall in love -- or struggle with their feelings. I am not a Sherlock Holmes expert, but reading this, Charlotte and Jamie capture the essence of their predecessors. Charlotte is quick with her deductive reasoning, and Jamie is Watson (struggling with his anger issues, but also taking on the role as caretaker of Holmes and running double time to keep up to speed with Charlotte). The mystery itself was interesting, I didn't know what or who could be the perpetrator, and kept me turning the pages. Highly recommend! There were some swear words, and there were some topics aside from the murder that's more fit for older teen audiences.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Twist on Sherlock Holmes This was good! a mix of murder, mystery, young love, and always the Holmes quirky personality
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh This book was good, but meh. It was interesting but it kinda got boring and after a while I guess I just stopped caring and it got pretty boring so yeah. It had a hook in the beginning, well not really but it seemed interesting, but I guess you canèt really judge a book by its cover now can you...
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Book! I read the hardcover version of the book when it came out and I absolutely loved it! The characters, Jamie and Charlotte, show readers the unlikeliness between them and their ancestors, Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. The combination of mystery and romance makes this book a real page turner.
Date published: 2016-11-16

Editorial Reviews

“Fans of television’s Elementary and Sherlock will avidly devour this book...a joyous excuse to watch one of the literary world’s most beloved pairings come together.”