A Winter's Promise: Book One Of The Mirror Visitor Quartet

byChristelle DabosTranslated byHildegarde Serle

October 5, 2018|
A Winter's Promise: Book One Of The Mirror Visitor Quartet by Christelle Dabos
Earn 150 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
In-Store Availability


Amazon Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book of 2018One of Entertainment Weekly ''s 10 Best YA Books of 2018One of Publishers Weekly ''s Best YA Book of the YearA National Indie BestsellerLonglisted for Irish YA prize Great Reads AwardLose yourself in the fantastic world of the arks and in the company of unforgettable characters in this French runaway hit, Christelle Dabos'' The Mirror Visitor quartet.Plain-spoken, headstrong Ophelia cares little about appearances. Her ability to read the past of objects is unmatched in all of Anima and, what''s more, she possesses the ability to travel through mirrors, a skill passed down to her from previous generations. Her idyllic life is disrupted, however, when she is promised in marriage to Thorn, a taciturn and influential member of a distant clan. Ophelia must leave all she knows behind and follow her fiance to Citaceleste, the capital of a cold, icy ark known as the Pole, where danger lurks around every corner and nobody can be trusted. There, in the presence of her inscrutable future husband, Ophelia slowly realizes that she is a pawn in a political game that will have far-reaching ramifications not only for her but for her entire world.The World of the ArksLong ago, following a cataclysm called the Rupture, the world was shattered into many floating celestial islands, now known as arks. Over each, the spirit of an omnipotent and immortal ancestor abides. The inhabitants of these arks each possess a unique power. Ophelia, with her ability to read the pasts of objects, must navigate this fantastic, disjointed, perilous world using her trademark tenacity and quiet strength.An unforgettable heroine, a rich and bountiful universe, intrigue and suspense: A Winter''s Promise is perfect for readers of Margaret Rogerson''s An Enchantment of Ravens, Melissa Albert''s The Hazel Wood, V.E. Schwab''s Shades of Magic" series, Tomi Adeyemi''s Children of Blood and Bone, Kenneth Oppel''s "Airborne" series, and N.K. Jemisin "Broken Earth" series.Extract: I think we could have all lived happily, in a way, God, me and the others, if it weren''t for that accursed book. It disgusted me. I knew what bound me to it in the most sickening of ways, but the horror of that particular knowledge came later, much later. I didn''t understand straight away, I was too ignorant. "
Christelle Dabos was born on the Cote d''Azur in 1980 and grew up in a home filled with classical music and historical games. She now lives in Belgium. The Mirror Visitor, her debut series, won the Gallimard Jeunesse-RTL-Telerama First Novel Competition. Since graduating in French from Oxford University,Hildegarde Serle has worked ...
Title:A Winter's Promise: Book One Of The Mirror Visitor QuartetFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:468 pages, 8.8 X 6.1 X 1.67 inShipping dimensions:468 pages, 8.8 X 6.1 X 1.67 inPublished:October 5, 2018Publisher:Europa EditionsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1609454839

ISBN - 13:9781609454838

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: